John's Crabby Caps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
I read other remarks and decided to use coarsely grated fresh parmesan cheese. Substituted 1/4 tsp. cayenne pepper for chili powder. Also added the sherry directly to the stuffing rather than in the cooking pan. This compensated for dryness. Was wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2006
This recipe went over great at a recent cocktail party I through for my fiance and her family. Crowd favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sikeston, Missouri, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2004
I'm not really too muh into mushrooms but this is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Property of Sicilian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Egg Harbor Township, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Somers Point, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2003
I thought the parmesan definitely made them too salty. I almost doubled the mayo and it was still dry. I've made others w/ more butter and lemon and different cheeses that were better. I just drowned these in lemon to finish them up. Sry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2003
OK, I admit that I didn't really read all the directions first. I just mixed everything together, threw it on some Portobello mushroom caps for a meal sized portion, put it in the oven topped with Provolone cheese. It was so good, fast and easy. 11/03 i have made them a few times now and they have turned out very dry when they weren't topped with the provolone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2003
These are excellent but I'm only giving them 4 stars because they are SO salty. If they come up with a low-salt Parmesan cheese, then these will definitely be 5 stars. I was a little low on Paremsan cheese so I topped it off with a little mozzarella, which didn't seem to make a difference in the taste. I served this with homemade tomato soup and a side of salad. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2003
What more can I say? These were incredible! I did add a little cayenne and a bit of sherry to the mixture as well. Make sure you purchase a good brand of crab. Good goin' John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
Great mushrooms! I added some cayenne to give them a kick. Be sure to have lemon wedges available.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
Recipe tastes absolutely great & is very easy to prepare! I liked using smaller, bite-sized mushrooms rather than large ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
Excellent!! I will definately make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stijerina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caledonia, New York, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cheesy Crackers

See how to make delicious homemade cheesy crackers.

Chef John’s Beef Sliders

See how to make perfect homemade sliders.

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States