John's Broccoli and Ziti Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
I read the reviews before I made it and added about an 1/8 of a cup of milk while mixing it together...made it perfect...for a more filling meal I added Italian sausage which I cooked and then sautéed together with the brocolli (fresh) I also added about a test of Greek seasoning...and added an equal amount of cheddar cheese to the mozzarella (one 8 oz bag of cheddar and one 8 oz bag of mozz.)also I mixed the brocolli and pasta together before adding cheese and there were no clumps. It turned out absolutely amazing and to me and my hubby it solved all of the problems in previous reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
This dish was great! The only thing I'd do differently is a little less oil, otherwise it was something everyone enjoyed. Also is good with a tad of spice (I used cayenne pepper) to give it a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Very tasty and sooo easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
This recipe has great potential but was just alright as is. 16oz pasta for 6 people is quite a bit, so I stirred in just enough of the cooked pasta to be better balanced with the broccoli. Quite a few other reviews said it was dry; I foresaw that and added in some butter, which helped but wasn't enough. The cheese was in melted globs throughout the dish. I think making a roux and creating a sauce would fix that. I added Parmesan cheese too. Really good flavors but I think making a little sauce would really help. Made for Western Region Allstars Faceless Frenzy July 2012
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
This recipe was quick and easy. I added chicken breasts, a can of cream of mushroom, and an extra package of broccoli. Boy, was it delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Tasty easy dish and easy to adapt. I used fresh broccoli,trotole instead of ziti and the cheeses I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
I am Italian and we eat this all the time. This recipe can use some help.... First - make it with alot less oil (3 tbs) then use chicken or vegetable broth. Also, using fresh broccoli, fresh basil and some crushed red pepper makes all the difference. I dont use mozzerella (no taste). I finish it with Romano, parmiagano or feta depending on what we are in the mood for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dining Diva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Agawam, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: East Granby, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
This is my go-to "it's easy after work" recipe. Only change is that I saute the broccoli in about 1/4 cup olive oil, and add the remaining 1/4 cup as I'm mixing everything together. (Sometimes I need more, sometimes not so much.) I frequently saute a diced chicken breast or two with the broccoli, or grill some chicken beforehand and throw it in. Thanks for a great staple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
As other reviewers stated, needs a little extra something. I added tomato sauce and some additional spices, as well as leftover chicken breast pieces. That helped, but still a bit dry. Will try again, but change up the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
This recipe was just ok for me - but my family loved it. I used extra garlic but it seemed as though something was missing. As I said though, family loved it so it's in the rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Broccoli Chicken Casserole I

See how to make a creamy baked chicken and broccoli casserole.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States