John's Broccoli and Ziti Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Tasty easy dish and easy to adapt. I used fresh broccoli,trotole instead of ziti and the cheeses I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2004
I thought this made a great meal. I served it along side of a very meaty baked pasta dish for an "Italian Night" dinner party. My friends are VERY picky eaters and they all loved it. It was simple and good. I don't think it was too dry at all - just make sure that you don't discard the oil in which the brocoli is cooked. As the brocoli is cooking, it makes some water, a little bit of which can also be tossed in with the pasta. All in all, I really liked this recipe and will definitely make it again. I served it with some vegetarian eggplant marinara on the side for those who like things saucy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
This recipe was quick and easy. I added chicken breasts, a can of cream of mushroom, and an extra package of broccoli. Boy, was it delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2003
I added boneless chicken breast to the broccoli and garlic, just to make it a little more of a meal. My kids loved it, so for that reason it will have a space in my recipe box. In my opinion, this was good but a little dry. Maybe adding a can of cream of mushroom soup would give it the little extra moisture that it needs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
I like ALOT of cheese so I did add more than suggested. I also added a marinara sauce to it so I didn't have the 'dry' problem others have mentioned. Chicken with the broccoli though would have been a great addition. I served this with cheese garlic bread and it was awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
This was a great alternative as I needed a side without parmesan cheese with my Italian pork chops (I ran out...). I used leftover spaghetti and added parsley (personal taste) and a couple tablespoons of milk (to help keep from drying out). I think the milk wasn't so necessary as watching the dish. I don't think it needs very much time in the oven. The oven is what dries out the pasta and everything is already cooked, so it's best just to leave it in to melt the cheese rather than wait for it to be brown. Covering with foil might be another option, too. Overall - very good for a quick side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
This is my go-to "it's easy after work" recipe. Only change is that I saute the broccoli in about 1/4 cup olive oil, and add the remaining 1/4 cup as I'm mixing everything together. (Sometimes I need more, sometimes not so much.) I frequently saute a diced chicken breast or two with the broccoli, or grill some chicken beforehand and throw it in. Thanks for a great staple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Very tasty and sooo easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
This dish was great! The only thing I'd do differently is a little less oil, otherwise it was something everyone enjoyed. Also is good with a tad of spice (I used cayenne pepper) to give it a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
This recipe was just ok for me - but my family loved it. I used extra garlic but it seemed as though something was missing. As I said though, family loved it so it's in the rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Broccoli Chicken Casserole I

See how to make a creamy baked chicken and broccoli casserole.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States