Johnny's Spice Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
This is absolutely the best rub I have ever made myself. I doubled the recipe and use it on every meat I cook. Not just for grilled meats, I use it on all meats, baked, fried, etc. The only thing I will do different next time is cut the salt back slightly so I can sprinkle it liberally. This stuff is GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
Theres a reason this rub is so highly rated! Its so easy but so good. I didnt have any paprika and added a touch more chili powder. It was very good but very spicy. I chose to use this on cubes of meat about 1.5in each. Dipped them directly in the rub and made a great side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
We Loved it! What a nice alternative to a maranade! It tasted just like a steak at a good steakhouse! And I didn't even have any cumin, and accidentaly put in 1/2 tbsp of oregano instead of 1/2 tsp! Oops! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
Works well on moose tritip marinated for two days
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flyrod

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
This was good, wasn't anything "out of the ordinary" but was tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Roseville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
I love this stuff!! I always have some on hand. I cut down on the cumin and chili powder as the kids prefer a little less spice. Thanks for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EVEELANE

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
We rarely grill without it!! We keep a big container in our spice cabinet. It gives a sweet spice to steak and pork. It also darkens the outside which gives it more of a charred look for gas grills. Sometimes we'll add olive oil to the meat after applying the rub so the flames jump up and sear it. Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2005
Tasted great! Made enough rub for 12 pork chops. Made them on the grill, YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISRIZZIO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lombard, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2005
Excellant on any kind of meat, Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2005
I used this on steaks, and we didn't think it added much flavor. We've tried rubs before and liked them, so I think this combination of spices just didn't do it for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

BBQ Spice Rub

A little sweet, a little spicy; great on pork and chicken.

Dry Rub for Ribs

This simple spice rub for pork ribs also works great for chicken and steaks.

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States