Johnny's Spice Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Really great all around rub!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Nicely balanced flavors make this rub a star! I am glad that I doubled the recipe so I will have it on hand; I can imagine using it on various grilled meats and vegetables. The only change I made was subbing smoked paprika for a portion of the paprika called for in the recipe. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
This was good, we skewered some large shrimp intertwined with bacon & gave them a nice sprinkling of this rub prior to grilling. Personally I'd cut down a bit on the cumin but other than that it's a nice blend that the hubs wants to try on his next smoked pork project. Very good though not overly spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BudsGurls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
This is a very good barbeque rub with room to modify the amount of spiciness or sweetness to suit your tastes. First, I scaled this down a quite a bit to serve for only two people plus, I did not want to make a whole lot not knowing whether or not my family would like this or not. They generally do not like anything remotely spicy. So what I did was add a little more brown sugar and went real light on the cumin, paprika, black pepper, and omitted the chili powder. I used this for a shrimp dish. This ended in a happy surprise for me as my family actually liked the blend of the seasonings. I was pleased that this worked out since I was hesistant when measuring the ingredients. As for me, I like the flavors, thou, I would and could have used some "more" spiciness to the rub. I am more delighted that I finally found a bbq rub that the whole family can embrace and enjoy over meats, seafood, etc. Thank you Johnny!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
I mixed this up just as directed and was so pleased with it I'd do so again in a heartbeat. This is an absolutely outstanding all-purpose spice blend that will do anything you use it on a favor. I used it tonight on "Bacon Wrapped Barbecue Shrimp," recipe also from this site, but I won't hesitate to use it on just about anything. This was truly excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Absolutely delicious on steak! (Spicy and Tasty)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
I cut back on the salt and pepper a bit and increased the oregano a bit. We were supposed to grill chicken today but my husband is late today so I had to come up with a substitute. I tossed this rub in a cup of flour and coated my chicken legs in it, then fried it in hot vegetable oil, then baked it to finish it off and crisp it up a bit. HUGE hit, especially with my two boys. My youngest boy ate two chicken legs, which is huge for this kid who's pickier than any other kid I know. We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
I took the advice of some others and cut the cumin way down. I think I used like 1/2 tsp. I did the same with the chili powder. My kids don't like spicy food. I also doubled the brown sugar. I cooked half the meat in the oven on low heat and half on the BBQ. They both were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Cantrell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
This was so good. I loved it. But my kids and husband thought it was too spicy. Next time I will cut down on the cumin. But otherwise, super yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dry Rub for Ribs

This simple spice rub for pork ribs also works great for chicken and steaks.

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States