Johnny's Spice Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
Used it on tri-tip. Pretty good. I just reduced the spice level since my toddlers were eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Not bad, but nothing special. The family wasn't crazy about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
I thought this looked like a good recipe for a rub. I guess I must have put way too much on the meat. It was overpowering. My husband liked it, so I gave it 3 stars. I probably will not make it again as I did not care for it....Back to the search...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Weaselsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Delicious. I omitted the cumin because I don't like it, but I certainly didn't miss it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I have done this rub on pork tenderloin and pork roast in crock pot with sauerkraut. To do this cut the recipe in half, otherwise it would be too overpowering. It really adds a lot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
I had to leave out the paprika (mine has gone missing O_o). I also used onion salt in place of salt. That was just a personal choice. I also reduced the cumin down to 1/2 tsp. This was also a personal choice. This was very spicy and OUTSTANDING!!!!! I would personally give it 10 stars if I could. I think I have found my newest culinary addiction to experiment with! I will be using this recipe again. Thank you so much for sharing it!!!!! I used my rub on boneless spare ribs and oh holy delicious!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovinghappyhome

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
Two of us really loved it, the third really didn't love it. I have a feeling that I applied far too much of the rub to the meat. I wouldn't change any of the ingredients or proportions but I would certainly back off on the amount used. I am one of those guys who loves flavour, flavour, flavour however I am realizing that a house doesn't have to fall on you for you to enjoy a recipe. Use sparingly unless you want to eat alone. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashortslurp

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
Very tasty! A great addition to my BBQ~ Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginny Axman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
I have used this recipe in BBQ competitions several times -- have placed several times. It is most excellent, simple and easy to make up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Really good. I cut the serving size by half of that listed but ended up doubling the brown sugar . . . just because it sort of smelled strong, like I needed a little more sweet [what's an extra tablespoon of brown sugar anyway?]. I rubbed the mixture over a pork tenderloin and kept it refrigerated overnight. Next day we grilled it and at the end of the grilling time mopped it with Sweet Baby Ray's Hickory and Brown Sugar bbq sauce. It was probably the best pork tenderloin we've had and we're sort of picky. Add to this, my husband is expert at knowing just how long to get a sear on the hot side of the coals and when to transfer the meat to the indirect side which makes for an incredible juicy cut of meat. Try this rub -- I had extra and will definitely try on other cuts of meat. Cheers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

BBQ Spice Rub

A little sweet, a little spicy; great on pork and chicken.

Dry Rub for Ribs

This simple spice rub for pork ribs also works great for chicken and steaks.

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States