Johnny's Spice Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
This rub is a winner. Both my picky eaters ate chicken marinated in it. I diced the chicken, cooked it with diced onions and red peppers, and then rolled it up in tortillas. It was so good with sour cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
We always keep a batch on hand. We put it on burgers and I swear it is a copy cat of burger king's seasoning. It makes the burger!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Thanks so much - finally someone to give you a perfect "rub". I added 1 Tbst cayenne, we love it hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Loved this! Used it on pork chops last night and rubbed some on a steak that is going on the grill tonight. Great combo of flavors-and all things I had on hand already. Also liked that it made enough for several servings..........cause we are definitely gonna be using this a lot this summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
DELICIOUS!!! Made as is, the recipe is awesome. Add 1 Tablespoon of Onion Powder to it and it's PERFECT. I kept all of the other measurements the same except I cut the black pepper down to 1 Tablespoon or my kids would think it was too spicy. I can't understand why everyone was cutting back on the cumin, I thought 1 Tablespoon was perfect and didn't overwhelm the flavors at all, even before I added in the Onion Powder. Can't wait to try this on chicken!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Meh.... Chili powder overwhelms all the other spices. I won't use it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Nice, but nothing special until I added 2T Old Bay Seasoning. That supplied the missing ZIP. My husband raves about this recipe now, and so do I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Barth
Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
This rub was excellent, my guy and I loved it. We used it on steaks, let the rub sit about 2 hours then grilled them up. Being the first time I was using it, I did take the recommendations from other reviewers and cut the cumin to 1/2 a tablespoon. It is a great flavor with just the right amount of heat, do not let the strong smell fool you (not the burn your tongue so you cannot taste other things heat). Where we enjoy spicy things I actually may add a bit more heat next time, and try the original measurement of cumin. We will definitely be using this again! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunshine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
wow.. just wow.. we used this on tri tip.. i ran out of paprika half way through so i used cayenne for the rest (we love spicy).. very food-gasmic.. we also grilled some corn on the cob.. cut the kernels off added a few shakes of the rub and some sour cream.. mmmmmm! ty for such a versatile rub
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
Used it on tri-tip. Pretty good. I just reduced the spice level since my toddlers were eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

BBQ Spice Rub

A little sweet, a little spicy; great on pork and chicken.

Dry Rub for Ribs

This simple spice rub for pork ribs also works great for chicken and steaks.

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States