Johnny's Spice Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2004
This is a great rub for ribs and chicken. My family loves this recipe for the grill. It's a standard for all our BBQ's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2004
I love this rub. We love to grill and I've tried on chicken, beef and pork and it has always enhanced the flavor of anything that we've cooked. I was always a purist: just salt and pepper until now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2004
This recipe is the best "grub rub" I've found. It's an excellent basic rub with great flavor and depending on how heavily it's applied can give a mild to spricy taste to chicken and pork. With the addition of some cayenne pepper you can "kick it up a notch" and really tingle your taste buds!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2004
Great all around rub for chicken or beef. If you let it sit a few days, the flavors come together better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2004
Great recipe. A nice blend of flavors, neither too spicy nor too bland. I'll make up little jars for gifts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2004
This was good but not great in my opinion. My husband liked it better than I did. We used it on New York Strip steaks. I will keep looking for that "special" rub recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMABEAC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Creek, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WATTYZ
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2004
I've made this twice, and its great! I mix all the powders and put it in an extra herb shaker that I've emptied, then shook the rub all over country western pork ribs......let it marinate for a few hours and let it set on the counter for an hour to come up in temperature. Then I steam them for an hour and when I'm ready to go, I grill them with a little sauce on them (I've used both barbecue and caribbean jerk sauce from Buffalo Wild Wings) Both times they came out excellent! I will always have this on hand, especially during grilling season! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WATTYZ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2003
This is a very spicy rub and was on the edge for me; the men in my family all loved it. They are asking for more and again! When I make this again I will definitely cut the cumin wayyyy down. I used this on baby back ribs. I rubbed them down, sealed them in foil and threw them in the fridge for two days. I then threw them into a 350 oven for 2 hours. The meat was so tender it was all but falling off the bone. Great tenderizer! The ribs were good as is but we elected to go ahead and wet them down with barbecue sauce. Old habits die hard. I was a bit heavy handed with the rub and next time will use sparingly. This is a good rub and not your typical sweet, bland seasoning salt. This is an officially awesome rub that separates the men from the boys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2003
I think this is fabulous and would be on anything.Easy to throw together-had all the ingredients in my pantry.Thought it was on the spicy side-but that's just what "I" wanted.Mmm...Mmm...Mmm...thanks a bunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Liverpool, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2003
I have to agree with other reviewers the cumin taste in this is way too strong. I halved it and still felt it was over powering. If I make again I will quarter it. I also havlved the chili power, but didn't find the rub had much spice so if I use the remaining rub I will add more. I used the rub on steaks. They did have a lot of flavor and were tender and juicy, so it has potential if you cut the cumin back.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dry Rub for Ribs

This simple spice rub for pork ribs also works great for chicken and steaks.

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States