Johnny's Spice Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
This is absolutely the best rub I have ever made myself. I doubled the recipe and use it on every meat I cook. Not just for grilled meats, I use it on all meats, baked, fried, etc. The only thing I will do different next time is cut the salt back slightly so I can sprinkle it liberally. This stuff is GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
Theres a reason this rub is so highly rated! Its so easy but so good. I didnt have any paprika and added a touch more chili powder. It was very good but very spicy. I chose to use this on cubes of meat about 1.5in each. Dipped them directly in the rub and made a great side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
We Loved it! What a nice alternative to a maranade! It tasted just like a steak at a good steakhouse! And I didn't even have any cumin, and accidentaly put in 1/2 tbsp of oregano instead of 1/2 tsp! Oops! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
Works well on moose tritip marinated for two days
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flyrod

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
This was good, wasn't anything "out of the ordinary" but was tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Roseville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
I love this stuff!! I always have some on hand. I cut down on the cumin and chili powder as the kids prefer a little less spice. Thanks for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EVEELANE

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
We rarely grill without it!! We keep a big container in our spice cabinet. It gives a sweet spice to steak and pork. It also darkens the outside which gives it more of a charred look for gas grills. Sometimes we'll add olive oil to the meat after applying the rub so the flames jump up and sear it. Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2005
Tasted great! Made enough rub for 12 pork chops. Made them on the grill, YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISRIZZIO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lombard, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2005
Excellant on any kind of meat, Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2005
I used this on steaks, and we didn't think it added much flavor. We've tried rubs before and liked them, so I think this combination of spices just didn't do it for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dry Rub for Ribs

This simple spice rub for pork ribs also works great for chicken and steaks.

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States