Johnny's Spice Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 31, 2008
Absolutely awesome rub. I've used it on pork and beef and put them in the smoker... yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Freeport, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
Excellent rub that hubby used on a pork butt in his smoker. Worked just as wonderfully on a brisket. Thanks Johnny!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2008
Excellent on pork chops! I've used it on chicken, steak, and pork, it's best on pork chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunshine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Millersburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
Combine with Sweet Baby Ray's BBQ Sauce and it's the best I've had. Five stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
This rub was so flavorful.....I put the rub on a pork butt that I let marinate in the rub overnight in the fridge. Next morning I placed it in the crockpot on low for about 9 hours, shredded up the meat(which just fell apart beautifully)and added about 3/4 bottle of KC Masterpiece, served on potato rolls. Family loved it....sorry I didn't make your sauce, pressed for time.....but the rub was outstanding and will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
This is my new favorite rub for ribs. I made some in the oven for Sunday dinner and everyone loved it and wanted the recipe. I HIGHLY recommend it. My bro said he wants ribs every Sunday now......try it...it's delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Charlotte Amalie, Saint Thomas, U. S. Virgin Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
This is probably my favorite homemade seasoning blend to make. I even use it on vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Springchick

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mason, Ohio, USA
Living In: Springboro, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
This rocks as an all-purpose seasoning, as well as a rib rub.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaponE

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Mckinleyville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
Well, I'm impressed. I used this on country style beef boneless "ribs". I had my husband grill the meat for about 16 minutes and then served bottled bbq sauce (KC Masterpiece original) on the side. This rub was perfect for the sauce, the flavors went together nicely. This was very very good. My teen complained "too much paprika". I'd used Hungarian paprika instead, maybe that made a difference? I wouldn't change a thing. This is definitely a keeper! Thanks Johnny! UPDATE 07/10/2011: Excellent rub! I found this hidden in a ziplock baggie in my pantry and used it for a brisket rub that DH hickory smoked for several hours. This made the best barbecue in all of south Texas! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
I was very hesitant about this recipe because I was missing mustard powder, chili powder, brown sugar and paprika. I used 1 tsp of cayenne to substitue for the heat of the chili powder and paprika and was afraid it would be too hot. I basted in mustard to sub for the powder and it helped the seasoning to stick, and I just used white sugar instead of brown. To my surprise, I got fantastic reviews. If this was good missing those ingredients, I'm assuming it'd be good when done correctly. I have to give it 5 stars for the praise it got me! The smoky cumin taste was a plus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dry Rub for Ribs

This simple spice rub for pork ribs also works great for chicken and steaks.

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States