Johnny's Spice Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Family loved it! It made alot and I am storing in the freezer for future usage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rita

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
Great rub, can be used on all meats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monaca, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bentonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
YUMMY! I too cut the cumin way down (3/4 tsp). Other than that, followed the recipe to a T. Was amazing on chicken, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KBots

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
This rub was great. I didn't have the mustard, but used everything else. I doubled the brown sugar to give it just a hint of sweet taste. We rubbed down 12 thick pork chops and grilled them. They were delicious! This rub is spicy - might be a bit hot for younger children. But my family loved it!!! We served it with orange marmalade dip like Outback Steakhouse serves: 1/2 cup orange marmalade, 1 t. horseradish and 2 teaspoons stone ground mustard. Mix together and refrigerate for a little while before serving. It was perfect with the chops. We definitely will use this rub again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Felicia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Nacogdoches, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
The rub is very tasty. I have used it on steaks and just today used it on a roast for the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shauna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peace River, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
Very good, I only eat chicken so that's all I have tasted it on. The sugar helps brown things nicely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHUGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
Very tasty. A good change from the usual spices I put on my steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
this is a general all around fantastic rub...i love it especially on pork ribs...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
We've used this rub for years and years. It was so good we've added it to our emergency 72 hour kits so our dinners can have some spice. It's the only thing we used on our deep fried turkeys and chickens!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia Graham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Texas, USA
Living In: Shelton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
Thanks Johnny! We made this to rub on a full size pork loin for our sons first birthday party. We wanted something different to impress the family and friends at the party, and this sure did! We did make one change since we had no oregano we used Mrs. Dash garlic and herb seasoning. This recipe was so delicious it gave the pork the perfect flavor. We will definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JZGrebe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sanford, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dry Rub for Ribs

This simple spice rub for pork ribs also works great for chicken and steaks.

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States