Johnny's Spice Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Really great all around rub!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Nicely balanced flavors make this rub a star! I am glad that I doubled the recipe so I will have it on hand; I can imagine using it on various grilled meats and vegetables. The only change I made was subbing smoked paprika for a portion of the paprika called for in the recipe. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
This was good, we skewered some large shrimp intertwined with bacon & gave them a nice sprinkling of this rub prior to grilling. Personally I'd cut down a bit on the cumin but other than that it's a nice blend that the hubs wants to try on his next smoked pork project. Very good though not overly spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BudsGurls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
This is a very good barbeque rub with room to modify the amount of spiciness or sweetness to suit your tastes. First, I scaled this down a quite a bit to serve for only two people plus, I did not want to make a whole lot not knowing whether or not my family would like this or not. They generally do not like anything remotely spicy. So what I did was add a little more brown sugar and went real light on the cumin, paprika, black pepper, and omitted the chili powder. I used this for a shrimp dish. This ended in a happy surprise for me as my family actually liked the blend of the seasonings. I was pleased that this worked out since I was hesistant when measuring the ingredients. As for me, I like the flavors, thou, I would and could have used some "more" spiciness to the rub. I am more delighted that I finally found a bbq rub that the whole family can embrace and enjoy over meats, seafood, etc. Thank you Johnny!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
I mixed this up just as directed and was so pleased with it I'd do so again in a heartbeat. This is an absolutely outstanding all-purpose spice blend that will do anything you use it on a favor. I used it tonight on "Bacon Wrapped Barbecue Shrimp," recipe also from this site, but I won't hesitate to use it on just about anything. This was truly excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Absolutely delicious on steak! (Spicy and Tasty)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
I cut back on the salt and pepper a bit and increased the oregano a bit. We were supposed to grill chicken today but my husband is late today so I had to come up with a substitute. I tossed this rub in a cup of flour and coated my chicken legs in it, then fried it in hot vegetable oil, then baked it to finish it off and crisp it up a bit. HUGE hit, especially with my two boys. My youngest boy ate two chicken legs, which is huge for this kid who's pickier than any other kid I know. We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
I took the advice of some others and cut the cumin way down. I think I used like 1/2 tsp. I did the same with the chili powder. My kids don't like spicy food. I also doubled the brown sugar. I cooked half the meat in the oven on low heat and half on the BBQ. They both were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Cantrell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
This was so good. I loved it. But my kids and husband thought it was too spicy. Next time I will cut down on the cumin. But otherwise, super yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dry Rub for Ribs

This simple spice rub for pork ribs also works great for chicken and steaks.

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States