Johnny's Spice Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2015
There is love in this rub! Delicious on our baby back ribs. Makes quite a bit, too, enough for two racks well rubbed. I prepared pretty much as written with exception of using celery salt in place of plain, and divided the paprika two TBSP sweet/two TBSP smoked. Thanks for sharing your delicious recipe, tasty stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2015
We liked the flavour of this rub but it was much too salty. Next time I'll use half of the amount recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2015
This is a fantastic rub, and so easy to make! It was fabulous on roast pork, and I can hardly wait to try it on grilled chicken. This is now a staple in my kitchen. If you try it, you'll love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
I make a rub that's very similar to this, with the addition of about 1 heaping tablespoon of onion powder. I do have a word of advice: Use a good paprika, IE Hungarian, in the big red can, sweet, smoked of hot ( which really isn't, but is a bit spicier). The paprika usually seen in mega marts, is bland and tasteless, adding little besides color to the party. Also, I cut down on the black pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom Sobieski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Zacatecas, Zacatecas, Mexico
Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: May 16, 2015
I put this yummy rub on some spare ribs and it was awesome!! Kiddos loved them too, thank goodness they weren't too spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
Tonight was my third time making this. It's been delicious every time. I put it on steak tips before grilling them. We had the tips with baked potatoes and green beans. Overall a delicious dinner highlighted by the spice rub. Definitely our favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
I've rubbed the steak can't wait to try it! I had all of the spices so very easy to do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
Johnny's Spice Rub Haiku: "Too much cumin here. But otherwise, this is great! Used on some chicken." I made the recipe as directed, putting half in a small tuperware for another day, and rubbing the other half liberally on two chicken breast halves that I quickly browned over hi heat in 1 tsp butter and 1 tsp olive oil, then finished off in a 350 deg oven. A really nice rub that would complement any protein, and any method of cooking, but the cumin came through way too strongly, and I LOVE cumin. I'll definitely be hanging onto Johnny's recipe and saving it in larger tuperwares (or giving as little spice-rub-jar gifts), but scaling the cumin way back.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Great, tasty rub that you can customize as needed. We like it with less salt and cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
This is potent stuff and really packed some flavor into the ribs I cooked low and slow for 6 hours before applying BBQ sauce. The rub and BBQ sauce went rather well together as the spice from the rub complimented the sweet and smoky sauce. Recommendations: there is some mouth tingle. For less mouth tingle, perhaps cut the paprika and black pepper back by half. Oh, I traded a tablespoon of paprika from smoked paprika, yum. Will make again, with a little less paprika and black pepper next time. Good rub, will have to try on steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

BBQ Spice Rub

A little sweet, a little spicy; great on pork and chicken.

Dry Rub for Ribs

This simple spice rub for pork ribs also works great for chicken and steaks.

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States