Johnny's Spice Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Great, tasty rub that you can customize as needed. We like it with less salt and cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
This is potent stuff and really packed some flavor into the ribs I cooked low and slow for 6 hours before applying BBQ sauce. The rub and BBQ sauce went rather well together as the spice from the rub complimented the sweet and smoky sauce. Recommendations: there is some mouth tingle. For less mouth tingle, perhaps cut the paprika and black pepper back by half. Oh, I traded a tablespoon of paprika from smoked paprika, yum. Will make again, with a little less paprika and black pepper next time. Good rub, will have to try on steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
SO GOOD! I used smoked paprika and it added a little bit of oomph. We rubbed this on ribs and they were the best I'd ever tasted. I've been looking for a long time for a good dry rub recipe...and this is it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Wilson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thief River Falls, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
This rub is a winner. Both my picky eaters ate chicken marinated in it. I diced the chicken, cooked it with diced onions and red peppers, and then rolled it up in tortillas. It was so good with sour cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
We always keep a batch on hand. We put it on burgers and I swear it is a copy cat of burger king's seasoning. It makes the burger!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Thanks so much - finally someone to give you a perfect "rub". I added 1 Tbst cayenne, we love it hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Loved this! Used it on pork chops last night and rubbed some on a steak that is going on the grill tonight. Great combo of flavors-and all things I had on hand already. Also liked that it made enough for several servings..........cause we are definitely gonna be using this a lot this summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
DELICIOUS!!! Made as is, the recipe is awesome. Add 1 Tablespoon of Onion Powder to it and it's PERFECT. I kept all of the other measurements the same except I cut the black pepper down to 1 Tablespoon or my kids would think it was too spicy. I can't understand why everyone was cutting back on the cumin, I thought 1 Tablespoon was perfect and didn't overwhelm the flavors at all, even before I added in the Onion Powder. Can't wait to try this on chicken!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Meh.... Chili powder overwhelms all the other spices. I won't use it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Nice, but nothing special until I added 2T Old Bay Seasoning. That supplied the missing ZIP. My husband raves about this recipe now, and so do I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Barth
Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dry Rub for Ribs

This simple spice rub for pork ribs also works great for chicken and steaks.

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States