Johnny's Spice Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: May 16, 2015
I put this yummy rub on some spare ribs and it was awesome!! Kiddos loved them too, thank goodness they weren't too spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
Tonight was my third time making this. It's been delicious every time. I put it on steak tips before grilling them. We had the tips with baked potatoes and green beans. Overall a delicious dinner highlighted by the spice rub. Definitely our favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
I've rubbed the steak can't wait to try it! I had all of the spices so very easy to do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
Johnny's Spice Rub Haiku: "Too much cumin here. But otherwise, this is great! Used on some chicken." I made the recipe as directed, putting half in a small tuperware for another day, and rubbing the other half liberally on two chicken breast halves that I quickly browned over hi heat in 1 tsp butter and 1 tsp olive oil, then finished off in a 350 deg oven. A really nice rub that would complement any protein, and any method of cooking, but the cumin came through way too strongly, and I LOVE cumin. I'll definitely be hanging onto Johnny's recipe and saving it in larger tuperwares (or giving as little spice-rub-jar gifts), but scaling the cumin way back.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Great, tasty rub that you can customize as needed. We like it with less salt and cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
This is potent stuff and really packed some flavor into the ribs I cooked low and slow for 6 hours before applying BBQ sauce. The rub and BBQ sauce went rather well together as the spice from the rub complimented the sweet and smoky sauce. Recommendations: there is some mouth tingle. For less mouth tingle, perhaps cut the paprika and black pepper back by half. Oh, I traded a tablespoon of paprika from smoked paprika, yum. Will make again, with a little less paprika and black pepper next time. Good rub, will have to try on steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
SO GOOD! I used smoked paprika and it added a little bit of oomph. We rubbed this on ribs and they were the best I'd ever tasted. I've been looking for a long time for a good dry rub recipe...and this is it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica E Wilson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thief River Falls, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
This rub is a winner. Both my picky eaters ate chicken marinated in it. I diced the chicken, cooked it with diced onions and red peppers, and then rolled it up in tortillas. It was so good with sour cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
We always keep a batch on hand. We put it on burgers and I swear it is a copy cat of burger king's seasoning. It makes the burger!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Thanks so much - finally someone to give you a perfect "rub". I added 1 Tbst cayenne, we love it hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dry Rub for Ribs

This simple spice rub for pork ribs also works great for chicken and steaks.

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States