Johnny's Spice Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Great, tasty rub that you can customize as needed. We like it with less salt and cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
This is potent stuff and really packed some flavor into the ribs I cooked low and slow for 6 hours before applying BBQ sauce. The rub and BBQ sauce went rather well together as the spice from the rub complimented the sweet and smoky sauce. Recommendations: there is some mouth tingle. For less mouth tingle, perhaps cut the paprika and black pepper back by half. Oh, I traded a tablespoon of paprika from smoked paprika, yum. Will make again, with a little less paprika and black pepper next time. Good rub, will have to try on steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
SO GOOD! I used smoked paprika and it added a little bit of oomph. We rubbed this on ribs and they were the best I'd ever tasted. I've been looking for a long time for a good dry rub recipe...and this is it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Wilson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thief River Falls, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
This rub is a winner. Both my picky eaters ate chicken marinated in it. I diced the chicken, cooked it with diced onions and red peppers, and then rolled it up in tortillas. It was so good with sour cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
We always keep a batch on hand. We put it on burgers and I swear it is a copy cat of burger king's seasoning. It makes the burger!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Thanks so much - finally someone to give you a perfect "rub". I added 1 Tbst cayenne, we love it hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Loved this! Used it on pork chops last night and rubbed some on a steak that is going on the grill tonight. Great combo of flavors-and all things I had on hand already. Also liked that it made enough for several servings..........cause we are definitely gonna be using this a lot this summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
DELICIOUS!!! Made as is, the recipe is awesome. Add 1 Tablespoon of Onion Powder to it and it's PERFECT. I kept all of the other measurements the same except I cut the black pepper down to 1 Tablespoon or my kids would think it was too spicy. I can't understand why everyone was cutting back on the cumin, I thought 1 Tablespoon was perfect and didn't overwhelm the flavors at all, even before I added in the Onion Powder. Can't wait to try this on chicken!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Meh.... Chili powder overwhelms all the other spices. I won't use it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Nice, but nothing special until I added 2T Old Bay Seasoning. That supplied the missing ZIP. My husband raves about this recipe now, and so do I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dry Rub for Ribs

This simple spice rub for pork ribs also works great for chicken and steaks.

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States