Johnny's Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Great biscuits! I like them in a iron skillet so I put them on the BBQ while cooking dinner and it's done in 16-20 minutes! I used whole wheat pastry flour ... I forgot the butter on top but they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom Kelly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
First time making biscuits and they turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
I had no idea I could make biscuits like this! I followed the recipe step by step with the exception of not using shortening. I used butter instead which might account for a slightly salty taste. I'll try non-salted butter next time. These were delicious. Crispy on the outside but fluffy on the inside. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
This is my go to biscuit recipe. Often times I am without buttermilk and use sour milk by adding vinegar. Still fantastic every time. A definite crowd pleaser every time! I am not a fan of rolling out and cutting biscuits, to messy. I love the simplicity of this recipe and how quickly I can get them to the table in the mornings to go with our sausage gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Late2Class

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
As written, this is a great staple recipe. I've used this recipe many times now and have made small tweaks to make it a 5 star recipe. TIP: add a little more shortening to make them fluffier. Not too much, maybe a tablespoon. You can cut down on some of the butter if you don't like the idea of extra shortening and butter. Or you can only use shortening (4 tbs) and no butter. Don't soften the butter. It should be very cold. It will take a bit to cut it into the flour so that the lumps are pea-sized, but cold butter is better than softened. Don't let the recipe fool you about the dough being very wet. Don't go crazy with the milk. Also, for those who used milk instead of buttermilk and found the biscuits to be heavy - it's because of the baking soda. Substitute with baking powder and you'll find them lighter and better tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Thank you to the person that posted this!! I have tried SO many biscuit recipes with no luck....until this one. This recipe is easy and the biscuits were so light and tasty. My husband was hiding them from my daughter so he could eat them all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Best biscuits ever!!! I make them all the time and follow recipe. They always turn out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Villa Rica, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Recipe to keep, The substitution help allowed me to whip this up and boy was I surprised how yummy they were. A must try,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
My family loves these biscuits. I make them all the time. I make them exactly as the recipe says!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
I have been making these biscuits for the past to years. I refuse to try another recipe because they are so good. They come out light and fluffy and the kids love them. I have gotten my co-workers hooked on these as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States