Johnnycakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Brought back fond memories of my childhood. I had forgotten these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2002
Served these for breakfast on a cold Scout campout, the scouts couldn't get enough and have added it to their breakfast menu for winter camping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Henry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montevallo, Alabama, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
This recipe works so much better than other johnnycake recipes I have tried. The key is to get the hot water at or near boiling, and otherwise, it's pretty foolproof.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
Great recipe. Nothing outstanding, but really easy and a great alternative to pancakes so it gets 5 stars from me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
I tried these for two reasons: 1. I had all the ingredients, 2. I was curious how good this "pioneer food" would actually be. (I have made "hush puppies" in the past and wasn't too enthralled with them.) I was pleasantly surprised at how tasty these johnnycakes really were! My husband and children really loved them. I served them with soup instead of cornbread, and the family ate them all up! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fawn Jenkins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vernal, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
dannnggg tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Station, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Made these to go with some Louisiana red beans and rice and they were great! I only had 1 1/2 cups of cornmeal, so I added 1/2 cup flour. I used goat milk instead of whole milk because that's what I had. I also added an egg and about a tablespoon of brown sugar. I didn't heat the water, and I mixed everything together all at the same time. I cooked them in a generous amount of butter. They came out fantastic and were a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
Added two table spoons of sugar, delicious and simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chappaqua, New York, USA
Living In: Santa Monica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
i absolutely loved this recipe! i added about a half cup of brown sugar to my batter and the results were fantastic! I will definitely be making these again! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
I usually make cornbread to eat along with my chili, but tonight I had a few extra minutes to just check out other recipes. Being from the midwest, I haven't ever had johnnycakes. I just whipped some of these up (In a fraction of the time it used to take me to make cornbread). I added 2 tablespoons of sugar substitute, because my family likes their cornbread a little sweet. I'm never making cornbread again!!! Crisp on the outside, and slightly moist on the inside, a perfect compliment to my chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FLYINGA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: La Vista, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Chef John’s Mancakes

Do Dad a flavor favor! Cornmeal pancakes with built-in bacon and Cheddar cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States