Johnnycakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
I usually make cornbread to eat along with my chili, but tonight I had a few extra minutes to just check out other recipes. Being from the midwest, I haven't ever had johnnycakes. I just whipped some of these up (In a fraction of the time it used to take me to make cornbread). I added 2 tablespoons of sugar substitute, because my family likes their cornbread a little sweet. I'm never making cornbread again!!! Crisp on the outside, and slightly moist on the inside, a perfect compliment to my chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FLYINGA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: La Vista, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
There's no egg or sugar, so they are very dry, crumbly and bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LiviaDesigns

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
These are very grainy, salty & heavy. Absolutely horrible. Do not waste your time or ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
I tried these for two reasons: 1. I had all the ingredients, 2. I was curious how good this "pioneer food" would actually be. (I have made "hush puppies" in the past and wasn't too enthralled with them.) I was pleasantly surprised at how tasty these johnnycakes really were! My husband and children really loved them. I served them with soup instead of cornbread, and the family ate them all up! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fawn Jenkins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vernal, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
The family didn't like these. I guess they don't go with the Italian-American pallet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
This recipe works so much better than other johnnycake recipes I have tried. The key is to get the hot water at or near boiling, and otherwise, it's pretty foolproof.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
Was unsure what to expect with these. They were good, for what they are. Kinda neat knowing what pioneers ate. I did add some brown sugas which helped and we had them with syrup. The kids enjoyed them. Thanks Kevin for the quick breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
i absolutely loved this recipe! i added about a half cup of brown sugar to my batter and the results were fantastic! I will definitely be making these again! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
Added two table spoons of sugar, delicious and simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chappaqua, New York, USA
Living In: Santa Monica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
the butter in this recipe isn't necessary seenhow they're being cooked in oil/butter as it is. so i didn't use that or the 2 tbsp of boiling water. they came out tasting like i expected them to; a traditional mash of cornmeal with salt that is cooked in a skillet. so i don't understand the complaints about sweetness, that's what the honey or maple syrup is for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Smithfield, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States