Johnnycakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
Great recipe. Nothing outstanding, but really easy and a great alternative to pancakes so it gets 5 stars from me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2005
I thought these were really good, however, I did add some sugar to the batter. Thanks Kevin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2004
I like cornbread but I wasn' too fond of these. However, I love the historical part of this recipe. I fixed this for my 15 year old and his friend and they really liked it. I made 7 from this recipe and they used Mrs. Buttersworth. These boys are next to impossible to fill but these heavy little suckers did the job. Cool recipe! Thanks for sharing some of our Americana!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2004
My kids actually liked this which was really amazing! They had it with maple syrup but I really liked it traditional like~ Honey! Try this, it may not be your favorite but it is a quick fix if you have a hankering for cornbread! I was out of milk so I just sub'd with cold water. It worked fine. SERVE HOT, cold isn't as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLLEBOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2003
We didn't like either the texture nor the flavor. Probably the lack of sweetness was its biggest fault.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOXHUNTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2003
This was a great recipe for historical meals. It isn't the most tastey recipe but I am sure that it is very similar to what people used to eat. My kids like to eat this when we read the Little House on the Prairie series. Make sure you have plenty of pure maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2002
Served these for breakfast on a cold Scout campout, the scouts couldn't get enough and have added it to their breakfast menu for winter camping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Henry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montevallo, Alabama, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2002
I make Fried corn bread all the time,but this had to be the best I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2001
I love the flavour of cornmeal, it makes all the difference. The pancakes were bit on the buttery side, but taste perfectly wonderful! I had to add quite a bit more water to make the batter manageable though. It was a bit of a problem getting them onto the griddle without making a mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2001
As expected these are a bit on the dry side. Serve with gigantic glasses of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Chef John’s Mancakes

Do Dad a flavor favor! Cornmeal pancakes with built-in bacon and Cheddar cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States