Johnnycakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
We didn't like it at all sorry. Way to dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
Very dry and very little flavor. There was no amount of maple syrup or butter that was going to save this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
My kids thought this was too heavy of a recipe for pancakes, but will use with soup instead of cornbread with honey and it should be fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
I usually make cornbread to eat along with my chili, but tonight I had a few extra minutes to just check out other recipes. Being from the midwest, I haven't ever had johnnycakes. I just whipped some of these up (In a fraction of the time it used to take me to make cornbread). I added 2 tablespoons of sugar substitute, because my family likes their cornbread a little sweet. I'm never making cornbread again!!! Crisp on the outside, and slightly moist on the inside, a perfect compliment to my chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FLYINGA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: La Vista, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
There's no egg or sugar, so they are very dry, crumbly and bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LiviaDesigns

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
These are very grainy, salty & heavy. Absolutely horrible. Do not waste your time or ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
I tried these for two reasons: 1. I had all the ingredients, 2. I was curious how good this "pioneer food" would actually be. (I have made "hush puppies" in the past and wasn't too enthralled with them.) I was pleasantly surprised at how tasty these johnnycakes really were! My husband and children really loved them. I served them with soup instead of cornbread, and the family ate them all up! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fawn Jenkins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vernal, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
The family didn't like these. I guess they don't go with the Italian-American pallet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
This recipe works so much better than other johnnycake recipes I have tried. The key is to get the hot water at or near boiling, and otherwise, it's pretty foolproof.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
Was unsure what to expect with these. They were good, for what they are. Kinda neat knowing what pioneers ate. I did add some brown sugas which helped and we had them with syrup. The kids enjoyed them. Thanks Kevin for the quick breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Maine, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States