Johnny Marzetti Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Everyone in my little family loved this dish. Pretty easy to make. I wonder why include celery?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Thought it was pretty bland, the only "seasoning" that seemed predominant was the seasoning in the sausage (which didn't seem to really suit the dish for some reason), and even after sitting overnight, it still was only OK. If I were to attempt something like it again, I might try stewed tomatoes, and possibly use only ground chuck, but I'm pretty certain I wouldn't make it again. Oh well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: May 9, 2014
Johnny Marzetti Casserole Haiku: "More like 4.5. Near perfection comfort food. Just needs seasoning." I wasn't prepared to like this so much, thinking it basically a jazzed-up version of Hamburger Helper, but ended up very surprised at how great it turned out to be; the only thing that it called out for was a heavier hand in the spice department; Italian seasoning, basil, oregano ... I just grabbed what my hand found in my cluttered cabinet (well, w/in reason, I certainly didn't put in anything that wouldn't jive w/ the flavors like curry or cloves!) and sprinkled it in. Definitely a keeper for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
My whole family loved this recipe and usually we nit pick a little on the different add ins to the recipe but not this time! Even my three year old loved it. A+ to this one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I did make some changes using the ground beef & Italian sausage, celery, adding grated carrots & dried onion in the sauce made with a can of whole tomatoes, crushed tomatoes & tomato sauce, oregano & dried Italian seasoning, teaspoon of sugar and teaspoon of parmesan cheese. When sauce cooled I mixed in about 10 ounces of sour cream into the sauce. Layered as directed only using Italian cheese and parmesan (no cheddar). Cover baking dish with plastic wrap and let set in refrigerator overnight. Let the casserole start to come to room temperature before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Kemah, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Made it with crushed tomatoes and it lacked some spices I agree with another review. We loved the Italian sausage and will probably add more next time instead of the ratio here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
Excellent version of an old time favorite ! I've tried it as is and also with the bow tie pasta. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
ok, on my family weekday menu board under Monday I wrote "Pasta Bake". Yeah I renamed this dish cause ....well, just cause Tuesday had Zuppa Toscana next to it! Just the facts, Ma'am! Anyway, today is Thursday and I just finished the LAST bite of "Pasta Bake". Everyone. Put. Down. The. Hamburger. Helper. Boxes. For the cost of buying pasta and meat that will last so much longer than that box this recipe is worth stocking the ingredients. I cooked as written except did not add the extra cheese on top. No biggie, it was cheesy without it. What I loved the most is the fact that the entire pan is gone! Gone gone gone! We ate it all. It has such a great body it holds up well for leftovers in the frig. I just added a salad and breadsticks for a great meal. Oh yeah, I always kick the seasonings up with herb mixes regardless of recipe lists for this type of dish. Do You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRoss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vicksburg, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Jackson, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Favorite casserole II (according to my son) I modified to be a one dish skillet meal. In a very large skillet I sauteed the veggies as instructed then added venison burger (instead of beef) and some diced cooked sausage and kept cooking until pink was gone from the venison. I then added - in layers - the uncooked tri-color macaroni (substituted for rotini) and two cans of undrained diced tomatoes. I filled the skillet to the layer of the tomatoes with one can of beef broth and one can of water (volume may vary according to skillet). Return to boil (do not stir) and simmer for 25 min. Check for liquid periodically and add water as needed for pasta to cook correctly. Top with cheese and heat until melted. Serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
this recipe is fantastic. I used papardelle instead of risotto because that's what I had, and I was still impressed. I also used a little more garlic and cheese, and added an egg in the mozzarella-- similar to cooking a lasagna. thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States