Johnny Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2002
Thanks for the recipe...it tasted just like the one Mom made...we ate it warm like cornbread. Must be quite yummy with syrup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
I was looking for a good cornbread recipe for a family get together. It was a toss up between this recipe and another one using frozen corn. So I made both and without a doubt, this recipe is superior. So moist and sweet--the best! Definitely a keeper--thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
I'll try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
This is a fantastic recipe. I made it to take on a canoe trip, and it was quite excellent even after five days of being beaten around in the food pack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
I love this with homeade soups, or warm with syrup poured on it. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
This Johnny cake is very easy to make and wonderful. It's good served with spicy foods like Jerk chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
My mom used to make Johnny Cake when I was a kid. I was craving some comfort food the other day and thought of this. I couldn't find my mom's recipe so I used this one. Don't tell mom but I think this one is better. It is light, tastey and absolutely wonderful warm with real maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tillsonburg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
I made this a 5 star recipe by adding corn. It was very good. I added 1 can of whole kernel and a lil extra sugar and flour. yummmmmmmm.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chocolate Moose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
tasted good, though crumbly. I baked mine for only 35 minutes and was done. Homesteader cornbread from this site is our favorite cornbread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glen Gardner, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
I use substitutes, such soy milk, egg replacer, and nucoa(milk free margarine), and rice flour...and they do not always fare well with baking recipes. But I cut back a tad on baking powder when I use egg replacer...and all worked great. I am glad to share johnny cake with my kids with allergies :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mizliz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States