Johnny Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
I was looking for a good cornbread recipe for a family get together. It was a toss up between this recipe and another one using frozen corn. So I made both and without a doubt, this recipe is superior. So moist and sweet--the best! Definitely a keeper--thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2002
Thanks for the recipe...it tasted just like the one Mom made...we ate it warm like cornbread. Must be quite yummy with syrup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommymeggy
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I've made this many times and it's a sweeter, moister replacement to cornbread on your table. FYI, I had always put the ingredients together the complicated way as directed in the recipe, but I was short on time tonight and just basically threw all the ingredients in and it turned out the exact same. Much simpler!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
I made this a 5 star recipe by adding corn. It was very good. I added 1 can of whole kernel and a lil extra sugar and flour. yummmmmmmm.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chocolate Moose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
I use substitutes, such soy milk, egg replacer, and nucoa(milk free margarine), and rice flour...and they do not always fare well with baking recipes. But I cut back a tad on baking powder when I use egg replacer...and all worked great. I am glad to share johnny cake with my kids with allergies :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mizliz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
This Johnny cake is very easy to make and wonderful. It's good served with spicy foods like Jerk chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
This may be called "Johnny Cake," but I couldn't tell anything that made it different from regular ol' cornbread. Pretty good cornbread, although it's a bit denser than I thought it would be. (I'd like to find a cornbread recipe a little moister and lighter.) Also note, this recipe cooks a lot faster than the recipe says--mine was done in 30 minutes, and perhaps I could have taken it out even sooner. Another note--I thought it would be pretty sweet with a half cup of sugar, but it wasn't for some reason.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
My mom used to make Johnny Cake when I was a kid. I was craving some comfort food the other day and thought of this. I couldn't find my mom's recipe so I used this one. Don't tell mom but I think this one is better. It is light, tastey and absolutely wonderful warm with real maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tillsonburg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
This is a fantastic recipe. I made it to take on a canoe trip, and it was quite excellent even after five days of being beaten around in the food pack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
I love this with homeade soups, or warm with syrup poured on it. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States