Johnny Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by JO~Lite
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
I’ve never had Johnny Cake before so I’m not sure if this is supposed to be like cornbread or cake. I was looking for something more like cornbread and less sweet. I decreased the sugar to ¼ cup but it was still sweet. I like the consistency of this bread and it had a good taste. I will make again but serve for breakfast instead of with dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JO~Lite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
This may be called "Johnny Cake," but I couldn't tell anything that made it different from regular ol' cornbread. Pretty good cornbread, although it's a bit denser than I thought it would be. (I'd like to find a cornbread recipe a little moister and lighter.) Also note, this recipe cooks a lot faster than the recipe says--mine was done in 30 minutes, and perhaps I could have taken it out even sooner. Another note--I thought it would be pretty sweet with a half cup of sugar, but it wasn't for some reason.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
Delicious! Very moist and sweet. I guess some people aren't looking for that particular combination in cornbread, but my husband and I gobbled it up. I used canola oil for the shortening, otherwise exactly as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
This is good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diva Nay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
I gave this recipe a 3 because it has a great flavor...as a cornbread. Very good! but I only gave it a 3 because this is not a traditional johnny cake at all, good flavor just not a johnny cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
I've never had Johnny cake, but this was a straightforward recipe. It's basically a dessert version of cornbread. I'll make it again when we have southern company visiting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
Yummy! I went a little heavy handed on the sugar based on the reviews, threw in a handful of leftover corn and baked in a deep dish pie plate. We loved this recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
Absolutely delicious! My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
Super good, followed recipe exactly. Got lots of compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
I use substitutes, such soy milk, egg replacer, and nucoa(milk free margarine), and rice flour...and they do not always fare well with baking recipes. But I cut back a tad on baking powder when I use egg replacer...and all worked great. I am glad to share johnny cake with my kids with allergies :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mizliz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States