Johnny Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
This was almost as good as the Johnny Cake that my mom made when I was a kid. Next time I will add a bit more sugar because I didn't think it was sweet enough. I also used butter flavored shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blue Springs, Missouri, USA
Living In: Liberty, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
I have been making an almost identical recipe to this for years. It is really great with spicy foods such as chili. The leftovers also make great breakfast, heated with butter and syrup/honey. I have had so many compliments and requests for the recipe, everyone loves it! Plus it is super easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
Loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rusty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cold Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
This is excellent..I love cornbread,and was looking for one that was not gritty...this is a KEEPER....its in my cookbook & will be the one I always use...I baked it in a round ceramic pie pan & it took about 30 minutes, unlike the other cornbread recipes I have tried, this was not burnt around the edges & uncooked in the very middle, it was excellent with just butter....thanks for sharing.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
I also couldn't find my mom's recipe that we have been enjoying for years, esp. because we own a sugarbush and make our own maple syrup. This recipe is great ! Very moist, a little crumbly but tastes great. I used coarse cornmeal though, that's all I had. I took it out just under 45 minutes, maybe should have cooked it longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommymeggy
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I've made this many times and it's a sweeter, moister replacement to cornbread on your table. FYI, I had always put the ingredients together the complicated way as directed in the recipe, but I was short on time tonight and just basically threw all the ingredients in and it turned out the exact same. Much simpler!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JO~Lite
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
I’ve never had Johnny Cake before so I’m not sure if this is supposed to be like cornbread or cake. I was looking for something more like cornbread and less sweet. I decreased the sugar to ¼ cup but it was still sweet. I like the consistency of this bread and it had a good taste. I will make again but serve for breakfast instead of with dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JO~Lite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
This may be called "Johnny Cake," but I couldn't tell anything that made it different from regular ol' cornbread. Pretty good cornbread, although it's a bit denser than I thought it would be. (I'd like to find a cornbread recipe a little moister and lighter.) Also note, this recipe cooks a lot faster than the recipe says--mine was done in 30 minutes, and perhaps I could have taken it out even sooner. Another note--I thought it would be pretty sweet with a half cup of sugar, but it wasn't for some reason.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
Delicious! Very moist and sweet. I guess some people aren't looking for that particular combination in cornbread, but my husband and I gobbled it up. I used canola oil for the shortening, otherwise exactly as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
This is good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diva Nay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States