Johnny Appleseed Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 8, 2004
I'm not a cook, nor am I a meatball person, but I loved this recipe. I wasn't going to finely dice up an apple, so I took a soft apple and grated it. Worked perfectly! I suggest mixing up the gravy and sugar before pouring it in. It makes stirring it easier. And it only fed 3 of us. Overall, didn't taste apple...just yumminess! Far better than those jelly meatball recipes. Served over egg noodles and substituted garlic salt. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2003
This was a good recipe. I do suggest chopping the apples extra fine simply to be able to make the meatballs and making double the gravy. My whole family loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Farnham, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2002
Very tasty meatballs. I found this recipe, and added it to my "recipe box"... almost backed out of making it because the more I thought about it, the more leery I became at the concept of apples in beef! I went against my feelings on this one and made it anyway...THE FAMILY LOVED IT, INCLUDING MYSELF. Even my nine year old, who is the most picky eater in the world ate it! I would say this is a definate "keeper" and will be making it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2001
My family loved these meatballs. Great with rice and mac salad. I made double the gravy since we like it on the rice. The sweetness was a nice change. I like to hear my husband say "MMMMM! What is this???" and try to figure out the twist in a recipe, which he definately did with this one. Looks familiar enough that the kids tried it and liked it. Make sure to chop the apple into FINE chunks or it is a pain to shape the meatballs :o) A+ recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valarie Amormino

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roosevelt, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
Wow! These were really good. I left out the sugar. I chopped the apple and 1/4 onion (didnt have onion salt) in the food processor. I left out the egg. Everybody loved them. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BB34

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
Although the meatballs themselves were good, we found the sweet gravy too odd for our taste. This might be better without the sugar. I added a little bit of rosemary to the meat since some reviewers thought these meatballs were bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHELABIGAIL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Meadowview, Virginia, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
Everyone (even the picky one) liked this. I also grated the apple and omitted the sugar in the gravy. I will make this again since it was a nice change from other ground beef dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fennbaby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I have been making these meatballs since I ran across this recipe on this site about 5 yrs ago. My family loves them as do my coworkers when we have pitch ins. I sometimes make them with pineapple and almost always add cinnamon as well. Thanks Christing for dreaming this up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2004
i hate to say it but these weren't very good at all. they had a weird taste and were not a big hit with anyone who tried them. i don't think i'll make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JENARM
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Really, really delicious. I left out the egg only because I didn't have one and couldn't be bothered to run to the store. I was worried that they wouldn't hold together, but they did. I also shredded onion while I was shredding the apple and mixed it all together. I am not a stellar cook, so it could just have been me, but it took me an hour to make these with apple chopping, mixing, making the meatballs, browning them, and the making the gravy and simmering. It was worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make the best party meatballs.

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States