Joey's Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
I was looking for a bread pudding recipe that was moist and more on the custardy side. Husband says that most bread puddings are too dry. When I made this he was very happy! I took it to a potluck and everyone loved the recipe. I made it twice and both times it came out deliciously. This is a very rich recipe... the only thing I did differntly than the recipe is to increase the cinnamon by 1 tsp. I used what is called Hawaiian Sweet Bread. This recipe is definitely ONO and a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hawaii Kai, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
I made this Christmas Eve and served it with homemade whipping cream and fresh raspberries. My husband's 88 year-old grandma said it was the best bread pudding she had ever eaten. It was so simple to make. I used vanilla challa bread from a local bakery which I think really made it extra special. I used a lot more than 2 pinches of cinnamon on top for a little more flavor but other than that, followed the recipe to a tee. It was very custardy. Simply delicious. I will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2001
I loved the taste and texture of this bread pudding. So creamy! However, it needed more flavor. I made a quick whiskey sauce and Oh Yum! Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
Fantastic recipe!!! I made it for my work, my husbands work, and my family... everyone loved it!!! I didn't butter the bread first or mix the bread in with the mixture, I layered the bread in the pan and poured it on top. I added butter last in slivers randomly on the top after it was all put together. I added allot more cinnamon than it called for, and in one of the pans I added a can of pumpkin into the mix. The pumpkin one was a SMASH hit! Thankyou for the recipe! For my first time making bread pudding, it was a foolproof, and an easy one to do! Happy Holidays!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
First, many thanks to all who took the time to enter a review. It certainly was a big help to me. I made the following changes: 4 qt (10x15) glass baking dish, 1 doz extra large eggs, 19 slices of cinnamon bread, 1 cup golden raisins which I placed in a bowl of very hot water (to plump up) for 15 mins, 3 tsp of vanilla and 3/4 cup of sugar. I let the bread soak up the egg/vanilla mixture for 15 mins before I added the other ingredients. Didn't need the cinnamon or nutmeg and didn't butter/toast the bread beforehand. Baked at 350 degrees for 1 hour and 20 mins. Very, very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnaLisa

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RioChick
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
This recipe came out very good but I kinda goofed through it. Mine was very thick & custardy with a nice crusty top even though after I realized I skipped the 'toast bread' step. Mine was already a couple of days old and nice and firm which helped to spread the butter and not smoosh the bread. I had to use about 3 cups heavy whipping cream and 2 cups half&half as that is what I had on hand. It wasn't grainy at all even without a water bath which I really liked. I also accidently dumped quite a bit of cinnamon after the shaker top fell off (oopsie!) but if this hadn't happened I think it may have been too bland. I will make this again with the same 'adjustments'. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RioChick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saxtons River, Vermont, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
This is excellent! I took a shortcut and buttered only one side of the toast, but it turned out to be fantastic anyway. I also topped it with a vanilla sauce I found on another recipe website, and it made this recipe beyond belief. In case you're wondering, the vanilla sauce I used was: 1/2 cup of butter, 1/2 cup of sugar, 1/2 cup of brown sugar, and 1/2 cup of whipping cream. Cook over medium heat and bring to a boil. Remove from heat and add 1 tsp of vanilla. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
This was the best bread pudding I've ever tasted. Many recipes come out thick and dry but this one was custardy as promised. My family loved it! I did use a bit more than a "pinch" of each spice but otherwise this recipe is flawless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
This recipe is very yummy! Things I did differently: I did not butter the bread first. I broke the bread in small pieces into a large bowl, then took a stick of room temperature butter and sliced it into 12 small pieces. I took 3 pieces(of butter) at a time with the bread and then mixed the bread with a mixer. I did this altertnatingly till all pieces of butter were gone. Then I got in it with my hands and mixed it a bit more. I did ad another 1/2 stick butter to it. I did not use regular bread. I used 2 packs of the Hawaiian sweet rolls. For the cinnamon and nutmeg, I sprinkled cinnamon all over the top, then with a wooden spoon, I swirled it into the batter so that some would get into the batter and some would stay on top. I did the same with the nutmeg. In a pinch, I ran out of vanilla extract, so I used pancake syrup in its place. The recipe came out yummalicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quakertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Macungie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2002
I thought that this recipe was way to sweet. It also was very eggy. It also needed more cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States