Joey's Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
My daughter and I really enjoyed this recipe. We added more cinnamon as we love lots in our bread pudding. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
I have made this atleast 3 times cause it's a major hit with my friends. I can't bring myself to put in 12 eggs so I always put in 8. I also don't like the overly potent smell of vanilla so I only add about 2 tablespoons. I put extra extra cinnamon and extra nutmeg on top. Very wonderful recipe, I love it and make it every time we have family come in or an event to go to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
I have made this for several people and everyone of them loved it. My Uncle is in love with it and requests it all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
This was too sweet! I love sweets as much as anyone but this was too much. I questioned the amount of sugar but the reviews were so positive I went ahead with the full amount. I may try again but will try 2/3 the amount. I also could not stand the idea of so much fat with all the butter and then the half and half. I didn't butter the bread and used whole milk instead of milk and think that works fine. I also added a lot more cinnamon as others suggested. I stirred in about 2 tsps. to the eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
This is excellent! I took a shortcut and buttered only one side of the toast, but it turned out to be fantastic anyway. I also topped it with a vanilla sauce I found on another recipe website, and it made this recipe beyond belief. In case you're wondering, the vanilla sauce I used was: 1/2 cup of butter, 1/2 cup of sugar, 1/2 cup of brown sugar, and 1/2 cup of whipping cream. Cook over medium heat and bring to a boil. Remove from heat and add 1 tsp of vanilla. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
I was looking for a bread pudding recipe that was moist and more on the custardy side. Husband says that most bread puddings are too dry. When I made this he was very happy! I took it to a potluck and everyone loved the recipe. I made it twice and both times it came out deliciously. This is a very rich recipe... the only thing I did differntly than the recipe is to increase the cinnamon by 1 tsp. I used what is called Hawaiian Sweet Bread. This recipe is definitely ONO and a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hawaii Kai, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
First, many thanks to all who took the time to enter a review. It certainly was a big help to me. I made the following changes: 4 qt (10x15) glass baking dish, 1 doz extra large eggs, 19 slices of cinnamon bread, 1 cup golden raisins which I placed in a bowl of very hot water (to plump up) for 15 mins, 3 tsp of vanilla and 3/4 cup of sugar. I let the bread soak up the egg/vanilla mixture for 15 mins before I added the other ingredients. Didn't need the cinnamon or nutmeg and didn't butter/toast the bread beforehand. Baked at 350 degrees for 1 hour and 20 mins. Very, very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnaLisa

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
This was quite good and really easy. I used day old french bread and i didn't toast it first since we like our bread pudding rather custardy. I topped it off with some homemade caramel sauce. Husband really liked it. Will definately be making it again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longmont, Colorado, USA
Living In: Evanston, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
I like my bread oudding to be a bit custardy (is that a word?) and this is the one. We skipped the toasting/buttering the bread part, but used a french miche loaf. (about 1 pound) The first time we made it, we couldn't fit it all in the pan, so we saved a little egg mixture. When it was about 30 minutes from done, I poured the last of the eggs on top (about 1-1/2 cups), let it sit for 15 minutes and finished baking. It was awesome. The second time, we let the bread soak for much longer (45 minutes to an hour) before baking and it was less custardy, but more moist on top. The cinnamon and nutmeg for the top is more like a couple of teaspoons than a couple of dashes, but then I'm a cinnamon freak. Instead of regular birthday cake, I had my wife make this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
This recipe turned out good in spite of me having to substitute milk for half and half and soft wheat bread for white bread. I have never liked or wanted bread pudding until I recently traveled to Jamaica (where I received it accidentally for dessert my first night there.) Since then I have craved it but have been unable to find a recipe without raisins and such. This one is very close. I will make it again. I cut back a little on the sugar and I also made a rum sauce for my husband to use on the side. It was very good with and without the rum sauce. I am sure it will be even better when I use half and half the next time. Also, this recipe makes alot. Next time I will cut the recipe in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SelenaFP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States