Joey's Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2004
I loved this recipe,easy and very creamy. I took another members suggestion and added more cinnamon, I also thought it too sweet next time I will reduce the amount of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cortland, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2001
This recipe is very rich but, will it ever make your mouth water! I have made this a over and over with nothing less than great reviews. Thank you Joey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2004
I made this today for thanksgiving and it was a dud. I thought it needed alot more than a pinch of cinnamon and it wasn't very tastey. Maybe more cinnamon and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
This recipe came out very good but I kinda goofed through it. Mine was very thick & custardy with a nice crusty top even though I realized after I skipped the 'toast bread' step. Mine was already a couple of days old and nice and firm which helped to spread the butter and not smoosh the bread. I had to use about 3 cups heavy whipping cream and 2 cups half&half as that is what I had on hand. It wasn't grainy at all even without a water bath which I really liked. I also accidently dumped quite a bit of cinnamon after the shaker top fell off (oopsie!) but if this hadn't happened I think it may have been too bland. I will make this again with the same 'adjustments'. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RioChick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saxtons River, Vermont, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
I make this very often. I use up my old bread and send it to my grandmother...she loves it. I don't care for bread pudding, but I like this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2000
Very rich with a good flavor, but kind of messy to make and not as custardy as I prefer. Overall very good tho! Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
My family loves this! It is true comfort food. I halve the recipe and use less sugar (4 Tbsps butter, 8 slices bread, 6 eggs, 1-1/2 Tbsp vanilla, 2-1/2 cups half-n-half and 3/4 cup sugar). I sprinkle with cinnamon and bake it in a 9 by 9 inch baking dish for 40 to 45 minutes and serve with whipped cream and fresh berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
Needs more cinnamon but otherwise is really good. A sauce to serve on top wouldn't hurt either. Eating it hot with vanilla ice cream on the side would take it over the top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States