Joe's Turkey Brine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Recipe was fine, everyone liked the turkey. Not a huge flavor boost but turkey was tender. I will say brining is a pain unless you have a small turkey. I stuffed the turkey with apple, onion and a cinnamon stick. I also roasted it in a bag and it was very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FeedMySheep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
This was the most juicy and tender turkey ever. I used a 5 gal cooler to soak my turkey. That way it didn't take up room in the refrigerator and I didn't have to worry about the weather being to warm. The spices soak into the meat and its not salty, just very good. Even the leftovers weren't dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
It works beautifully and doesn't leave any after-taste behind. Everything you could want in a brine and so simple too. Made one of the best turkeys I've ever produced for the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mclean, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Made the Best Turkey I've ever had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I used this exact Brine recipe for baking the Turkey yesterday for Thanksgiving. We purchased an 11 pound turkey the 21st. I put the Brine recipe together as directed. I put the Turkey with the Brine in a food grade bucket overnight for 14hrs. Removed it from the solution on Thanksgiving day & placed it in a huge colander & rinsed the access brine from the turkey. Pat dried it & stuffed it with apples & coated the skin with unsalted butter & sprinked some pepper & seasoning salt on the outside. Placed it in the roaster & added about 2 cups of chicken stock to the bottom of the roaster. The turkey cooked surprisingly in 2hrs. It was perfect & the family just loved it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I used this recipe along with an Apple Sage Brine Kit I purchased at my local grocery store, so it worked out perfectly. Since the brine kit I purchased from the store required a medium boil, then cooling, then add to turkey procedure, I added brown sugar, apple cider, (required by the brine kit) a little bit of maple syrup, celery, poultry seasonig, dried thyme leaves, dried rosemary, bay leaves, celery seeds, pepper, chicken soup base, carrots, onion & garlic to the brine kit when it started to boil. The kit came with a brine bag. After the above mentioned cooled, I added this to the turkey with 6 quarts of cold water & 1/2 cup of apple cider vinegar (required by the brine kit). In all honesty, other than the extra ingredients I added (and the brine kit) I used this recipe as my anchor, and I purchased the brine kit out of desperation because all of the kosher salt had been sold out. Now, let's get back to my next steps. I placed my turkey in a cooler with ice (too big to fit in the refrigerator) for 24 hrs. My 20.5 lbs. Turkey cooked in 3-1/2 hours. I was told by my entire family that this was the best turkey they ever had. The turkey was moist (even the breast!) and everyone wanted leftovers! Thanks! Great brine & will use again next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
I just wanted to comment on tda95337's note. Don't use a garbage bag. There are chemicals in those bags that are toxic. I brined a bird in a turkey bag one year, and later found out that garbage bags are harmful. Use an oversized turkey roasting bag or wash out a cooler instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tda95337
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
We made some modification to this recipe and loved it, the turkey was perfect. Cut the Kosher salt by 1/2 cup. We added1/2 onion and 6 cloves of garlic. We also stuffed the cavity with celery, carrots, lemon the other 1/2 onion, 6 more cloves of garlic, rosemary and Thyme. The we put the Turkey and brine in a garbage bag, then placed in a cooler with plenty of ice, overnight
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
This is very similar to an excellent brine I made last year, and will make again in a couple days, Joe. I also use fresh garlic and sustitute ice for the water so it can sit on a cool porch. (Hard to fit a five gallon bucket in the fridge!) I also suggest fresh herbs and spices. Try it! Your friends and family will NOT be disappointed!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Perfect Turkey

Make a perfect turkey, every time.

The World's Best Turkey

A bottle of Champagne makes this moist bird something to celebrate!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States