Joe's Incredible Bacon Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by STEFANNY
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
It was great. The texture of the pie was wonderful. Sometimes the pumpkin is a bit... quivery. (Which, if you love quivery pumpkin pie, this may not be the recipe for you) This was more solid and delicious. Rave reviews. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
This is great as is. I do at times mix it up a little by adding lots of chipotle powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Minden, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Your recipe is now noted on the website Neatorama
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stillhungry

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by the.rainne
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I cheated (a little). I used the canned pumpkin mix and a frozen pie crust. However, I went all out on the bacon! I bought some fresh bacon from my grocer's meat department and chopped it up into small bits. I cooked it for just a few minutes before I sprinkled cinnamon and sugar all over the bacon bits. I cooked them until they were dark and sticky. I sprinkled the "candied bacon" around the outer edge of the pie then baked it. In hindsight I would have cooked the pie somewhat before adding the bacon to make it more of a topping than part of the pie mixture. My family was apprehensive at first but after one bite they were sold!! I'll be doing this again next year!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Delicious!!!! It was everyone's favorite by far last Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by glowbug

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Connellsville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
This was interesting and delicious. Definitely worth it to find maple cured bacon, which isn't the most common type you'll find at the grocery. If I make this again I will use half as much bacon, though -- it was a bit overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Always Cooking Up Something

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
Triple-dog-dare by ~S~. Awesome idea. I made a few preference changes. Made my own graham crust. Adjusted the recipe to make "9 servings," which made one decently filled 10-inch springform. Used a little more than the full amount of bacon for 9 servings, but cut it into bite-size pieces for managability - glad I did. Used canned pumpkin cuz I had some. Omitted the allspice & clove cuz I don't care for it so much. The rest of the recipe was made as directed - and it is delicious. This particular recipe may not be for you, but it sounds way weirder than it tastes. And pumpkin and bacon absolutely DO go together - there are many, many recipes that support it. Thanks for the recipe - I'm going to do one of these at Thanksgiving! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
okay, we just tried it, and it was good!!! (we added cool whip to the top. see below) i followed the recipe exactly (cutting it in half though, for one pie instead of two) except for the pumpkin. i just used 1/4 can of pumpkin instead of cubed pumpkin. we also cut the bacon into bite-sized bits to place in the pie, rather than 7 whole strips. everything else i kept the same, and it turned out yummy. my husband and i both felt it needed to be a bit sweeter though to match the salty bacon. overall the flavor of the pie was more savory, rather than balanced between sweet and savory. we added cool whip to the top and that gave it the right amount of sweetness that it needed before having to tweak the recipe :) overall though, it was good!!! :D very interesting flavor combo and we liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by l337jacqui

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Really wonderful. I did not use All Spice (only because I am so not a fan) and I would crisp up Bacon for the top and add when completely done cooking pie. They get too dark for my taste/liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
Loved this idea! I've had this recipe saved for years and haven't had the crowd to brave making it in case it didn't go over well. Made it this year at Easter, and while there were some afraid to try it, the more adventurous really enjoyed it. I cut the recipe in half to make one pie. I liked the dense filling, with the cream cheese, but I personally found this over-spiced for my tastes. I'll try it again with less pie spices. I did crumble most of the bacon inside the pie before baking, then topped with more crumbled bacon around the edges. Will try again, and serve with maple flavored whipped cream. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States