Joe's General Tso's Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
OK but didn't taste much like the General Tso's I'm used to. Closest I have come to it is to mix one 8oz bottle of Russian dressing, one package of dry onion soup mix, one 8oz jar of apricot jam, 3 TBSP soy sauce, and a generous sprinkling of hot red pepper flakes. Heat until well mixed and coat your fried chicken pieces. Finish in the oven for 15-20 mins @ 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
This is REAL good !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Garland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Audrey
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
I added broccoli, peas, and jalapeños for an extra kick, however it did need more sauce. Not sure if it tastes exactly like the restaurant version, but I thought it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
Yes, this was very good!!! Though i have a hard time finding the right ingredients, it came out to be so delicious. No more Chinese takeout. It was easy to make too. Somebody read my review, is there a way to make the chicken crispier without overdrying. Please advise. Thanks...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
This recipe is just OK as written. It's lacking garlic and ginger that would give it a truer "General" flavor. It was delicious with those 2 ingredients added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
I've been wanting a really yummy Chinese recipe and am so glad I found this one. Thanks Joe! Love how the rice wine, vinegar, sweetness, and soy sauce come together in this. The sauce is so delicious as it is (but like one of the previous reviews said, I did need to increase the amount of sauce..tried doubling but ended up making quadruple the amount of sauce to fully coat the 1.5 lbs of chicken pieces I fried). I also used a large sweet onion and a green bell diced small instead of green onions and chili peppers. Added a couple teaspoons of red pepper flakes to put the spice back in. One other adjustment...out of habit, I just had to put the cornstarch & egg-coated chicken pieces on a plater of flour for an extra coat of crispy before frying...not sure if that's necessary though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
I saw this recipe and it looked appetizing so i decided to make it. And it did not disappoint. My family enjoyed it very much. However I used chicken breast, added fresh ginger and instead of rice wine I used white wine vinegar. It came out great for my taste but like another review stated if you like it more saucey. You have to double or triple sauce ingredients. Thanks for good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Not nearly as good as General Tsao's Chicken II from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Green

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Not a bad recipe, but not the best either...at least it's not a difficult one. One big error however is the suggestion of substituting gin for the rice wine; a better substitution is dry sherry, which many Chinese chefs have stated is much closer to the character of Chinese rice wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
Substituted a few items but over all great!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

General Tsao's Chicken II

Mouthwatering fried chicken in a slightly sweet and spicy sauce.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States