Joe's General Tso's Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2010
This was great! Flavor was wonderful, not spicy hot but very tasty! Needs a little more sauce to be coated completely but amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBastardos

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
Love this one!! My kids like it because it tastes like take out. I have made it with tofu instead of chicken, and I do't use exactly the same ingredients for the sauce...and it is still amazing. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
This is such a great recipe, I have had friends request it over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kiltcochran

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
I did some research online for substitutes for rice wine, if you don't have rice wine you can use gin instead. I've used it before and it worked pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
This recipe was good! I didn't have rice wine and substituted white wine. It turned out fine. I also didn't have small red chilies so I substituted crushed red pepper and sprinkled that in to taste. I did chop one half of a poblano pepper to give the meal a "green" taste and not just heat. Other additions were that that I cut up one large head of broccoli and sauteed that with onion slivers and the poblano pepper in a ginger-based stir fry oil. (The best General Tso's chicken I ever had contained broccoli; the standard recipe is very unhealthy if you make it without vegetables.) When finished, I tossed the whole thing with green onions and sprinkled some chopped peanuts on top. Authentic General Tso? Maybe not. Absolutely delicious? Yes. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waterford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
We just finished dinner. This was a very good recipe. I added fresh carrots and canned pineapple with the juice too. As someone has mentioned, if you like it saucy, triple the sauce. Also, for kids you should probably add fewer peppers. I think three would be fine. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
The breading and sauce both came out spectacularly. Initially it looks very much like tempura but, once the sauce is added, it starts looking very familiar. While it didn't taste like take out, I find most low end Chinese food has an oily presence that makes me feel ill. This was not like that at all which allowed me to enjoy the taste much more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
I thought this recipe was excellent. I don't often make Chinese food mainly because it is not my forte. But I have been making it more and more these days. I also did my research about rice wine and I read you can sub out dry sherry or white wine. I made 4 lbs of chicken on Sunday and started making hours before the guests arrived. I did 1 lb at a time and when each batch was done, I put it all into baking dishes and warmed in the oven before we were ready to eat. I was a little concerned how the batter would stand up after a couple of hours but it turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lish

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New City, New York, USA
Living In: Islip, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
OMG!!!!! WE JUST FINISHED OUR DINNER AND OMG! THIS IS THE BEST GENERAL TSO'S CHICKEN!! MY FAMILY ATE IT ALL AND SAID IT WAS BETTER THEN THE ONE WE GET AT THE RESTURANT. THIS IS A KEEPER FOR MY RECIPE BOOK. THANKS JOE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

General Tsao's Chicken II

Mouthwatering fried chicken in a slightly sweet and spicy sauce.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy Kung Pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States