Joe's Famous Michelada Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
I think these are odd proportions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JoAnn
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I prefer more Clamato than beer, so this recipe was perfect for me...I didn't change a thing! I loved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoAnn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
This is actually a Canadian drink originally. Up hear we called it a "Red Eye" Only we use a whole beer, fill the remainder of the glass with clamato and spice it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
We didn't have Clamato so substituted jarred "Better Than Boullion clam base" for these. We used about 1/8 tsp to 1/4 tsp per michelada and mixed that up with the rest of the ingredients. They were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy
Home Town: Coventry, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I'm reviewing this reluctantly, as clearly the submitter and her family, and others enjoy this. But this was really not very good, and after doing some looking, it seems that the proportions are "backwards" from most michelada recipes. This had one part beer to 3 of clamato -- the majority of recipes are showing 1 part clamato to 3 or 4 parts beer! No offense, but to me, this ended up being bizarre tomato juice, rather than a beer cocktail. I think I will try a more "straight" version, and honestly, I hope someone posts "the usual" version so that there's better representation and choice regarding this drink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
Instead of the soy sauce, a little pickled green olive juice or also have tried with a dash of red wine. Along with the lemon or lime, and the clamato & dash of tabasco.... proportion to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
A friend of mine called these Mean Cerveza's and they also had a bit of Worcestershire sauce in em... Love it Basically a Bloody Mary with beer!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Euclid, Ohio, USA
Living In: Stow, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AZ
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
I have had many versions of this ranging from just Clamato and beer to this well seasoned and flavored version. What I liked about this was that it tasted like a Bloody Mary, but more refreshing, and you can definitely drink more of them! i would say that the proportions are a little off - certainly it equals 16 oz, which is right for a mug, but after you add the ice, there is leftover. For two drinks, I doubled and mixed all the ingredients for the seasoned tomato juice, and split about 60% of it between two mugs that were filled with ice, then I had the seasoned juice on the side for the next round!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
We make one similar to this, but we use worchestershire sauce instead of soy sauce, limes instead of lemons and instead of salt we use cajun seasoning. An oyster bar we go to takes an additional step and adds one raw oyster and one cooked shrimp. It tastes better than it sounds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fd

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
The only changes I made are to use worchestershire sauce and fresh key lime juice instead of lemon and soy sauce. You may also want to try it with an authentic Mexican beers like Modelo Especial or the like. Great way to beat the Texas summertime heat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Frozen Margaritas

See how to blend the perfect frozen margarita.

Make the Best Margaritas

See how easy it is to make a classic margarita.

How to Make Salsa

Use your food processor to make homemade salsa from fresh ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States