Joel's Guinness Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2003
What a terrific recipe. I used a 2 lb london broil, and turned the meat a few times over the 24 hours. With grilling season approaching, this is a great addition to my list bbq ideas. I am not much a red meat eater, and even I went back for seconds. My husband, a dedicated red meat eater, was thrilled. and even my children, 2 and 5, loved it. Next time I may try adding a clove of crushed garlic...just because I love garlic. Definately a repeater. Thank you Joel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuiceMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2004
I'm an avid griller and always looking for different tastes. Unfortunately with this recipe the stout was over powering and gave a bitter taste. Depending on the brand of steak sauce will really make a difference. Good for tenderizing, but a flop on taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2004
This recipe is delicious! Pretty easy to make and, not counting the marinating time, quick to make. The sauce is wonderful! We thought about not using the marinade for the sauce since the steaks had a nice flavor from marinating, but we are very glad we took the time to make the accompanying sauce. We didn't notice a steak sauce flavor to the sauce at all. We could mainly taste the wine and the stout (we used Guinness Stout and a red Zinfadel for the wine), but it was a pleasant taste...not overpowering. Thanks for the excellent recipe! It's definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2004
Excellent marinade...steaks are juicy, tender and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angela Sackett
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
because i can't leave a good thing alone, i added sliced onions to this recipe to take it over the top. who can say no to Guinness and steak? delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2004
I really liked this. I did reduce the W. sauce to half...(just not big on the steak sauce taste.) Thank you for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
YUM YUM YUM! I used a london broil steak, and this was fabulous. In the future, I will add garlic and more salt and pepper. Broiled beautifully. I am giving this a 4 though--we were not huge fans of the sauce. Will stick with A1, if any is used at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexis Green

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2003
For all the yummy ingredients in this recipe, we were very surprised to find the prominent taste was that of the steak sauce. I wouldn't make this recipe again. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2004
Disappointed with this recipe. The prominent taste was the w. sauce and the red wine. Overall the taste combination was very different - it was not awful, but we did not care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
It was just ok. I cooked this for myself and 4 guys who love steak and guinness. Not sure what went wrong with it, but it just wasn't that tasty. Followed the recommened cooking times and the steaks were raw, not rare or medium, but raw. Tasted a lot of the steak sauce, and not much of anything else. Probably won't make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Grilled Flap Steak

See how to grill a thin, inexpensive cut of beef for salads, sandwiches, & tacos.

Tuscan Flank Steak

See how to make a simple but amazing marinated flank steak for the grill.

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States