Joel's Guinness Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2003
What a terrific recipe. I used a 2 lb london broil, and turned the meat a few times over the 24 hours. With grilling season approaching, this is a great addition to my list bbq ideas. I am not much a red meat eater, and even I went back for seconds. My husband, a dedicated red meat eater, was thrilled. and even my children, 2 and 5, loved it. Next time I may try adding a clove of crushed garlic...just because I love garlic. Definately a repeater. Thank you Joel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuiceMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2003
For all the yummy ingredients in this recipe, we were very surprised to find the prominent taste was that of the steak sauce. I wouldn't make this recipe again. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2004
I'm an avid griller and always looking for different tastes. Unfortunately with this recipe the stout was over powering and gave a bitter taste. Depending on the brand of steak sauce will really make a difference. Good for tenderizing, but a flop on taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2004
I really liked this. I did reduce the W. sauce to half...(just not big on the steak sauce taste.) Thank you for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2004
Disappointed with this recipe. The prominent taste was the w. sauce and the red wine. Overall the taste combination was very different - it was not awful, but we did not care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2004
This recipe is delicious! Pretty easy to make and, not counting the marinating time, quick to make. The sauce is wonderful! We thought about not using the marinade for the sauce since the steaks had a nice flavor from marinating, but we are very glad we took the time to make the accompanying sauce. We didn't notice a steak sauce flavor to the sauce at all. We could mainly taste the wine and the stout (we used Guinness Stout and a red Zinfadel for the wine), but it was a pleasant taste...not overpowering. Thanks for the excellent recipe! It's definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2004
Excellent marinade...steaks are juicy, tender and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2004
Sorry but I didn't think this was that great. Perhaps it was my cut of meat -- I used bone-in ribeyes. While the flavor was fine, the ribeyes were not tender. I missed the taste of salt and pepper too. I used Smith and Wolensky Steak Sauce and added minced fresh garlic to the marinade. My husband thought it was better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
Wish I had checked reviews before ruining my son's birthday steaks with this stinker. Tasted nothing but wine and steak sauce, and even though I used good rib-eyes and t-bones, steaks were chewy. So disappointing, I wouldn't even know what to change to make improvements.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
I would suggest if anyone wants to try this add some brown sugar to cut the bitter taste and a little garlic might help also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Chef John's Grilled Flap Steak

See how to grill a thin, inexpensive cut of beef for salads, sandwiches, & tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States