Jodi's Marinated Veggies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
This was a very good recipe family love it, I put green Cabbage & Grated carrots in also. Added 1/2 teaspoon onion powder to the poppey seed dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frankaff

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Made this for Easter and my family loved it. Easy to make and not the same old veggies. Also makes a large batch, and gets better the longer it marinates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
My boyfriend, a vegetarian, didn't like it. To me, these veggies were only OK. Maybe I ruined it by my modifications? I modified the recipe by adding only 1/4 cup onion, and 1/2 red and 1/2 yellow bell pepper instead of the green pepper. I also added only 1/2 cup of oil and 1/4 cup sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MonaG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Graniteville, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
I loved this salad! I served it to guests on two occasions and it was very well liked. I did follow the advice of others and halved the oil and sugar. I'm so glad I did - the recipe amount would have been way too much. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Three Lakes, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sheboygan Falls, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2004
I must go against the tide here and claim this recipe as merely OK. I would not make it again. I halved the sugar and it was still too much. If you are looking for a nice vinagrette, not too sweet from sugar or poppy, then keep searching. This is not the vinagrette lover's recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2003
YUM YUM YUM!!! This recipe is fabulous. I made the marinade according to others' recommendations. I cut the sugar and the oil in half, and it was PERFECT. You can definitely tast the sugar so half is without a doubt enough. I'm sure if you're eating sugar free (I am but since I am bringing this to a pot luck I didn't want to experiment just now) you could make it with Equal or similar. Because I didn't notice this is supposed to marinade overnight, and since mine will only marinate for a couple of hours, I didn't add the onions or the mushrooms. However I did a LARGE head of cauliflower and almost 2 heads of broccoli (my fave), 2 stalks of celery, and took someone else's suggestion and did one red, yellow and gr. pepper. And that's it! It's truly yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Lund Hazher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2003
I made this for Easter dinner, and everyone went back for seconds and thirds of this tasty dish! I will use the sauce for salad dressing, too. I found that using a wire whisk to combine the dressing made it easy to create suspension between the liquids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Price, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
Great recipe - definitely a repeater and oh so easy. A big hit with potluck crowd and hubby. I used a frozen veggie blend and less oil and sugar as suggested in other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
This was okay but I won't make it again. I liked it well enough that I ate my portion, but my husband hated it. I expected the mustard to give it more tang, but it wasn't tangy at all. It tasted like pure sugar and A LOT of oil. Cutting down on the oil by half would probably improve it a lot, but it would still be just way too sweet. I did like the decorative effect of the poppy seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2002
What a great and versatile way to use veggies! I loved this recipe and so did every other veggie lover at my dinner party. The recipe is simple and you can add just about any kind of vegetable you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NewMexicoMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Savory Garlic Marinated Steaks

See how to make a simple marinade for tender, flavorful grilled steaks.

Chicken with Quinoa and Veggies

Sautéed chicken breasts with tasty veggies, nutty quinoa, feta, and fresh basil.

Tomato Dirt Salad

See how to make a fresh tomato, mushroom, and mozzarella salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States