Joan's Famous Mondel Brodt Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2002
I have been meaning to review this recipe, because I have been making it for a long time and, in fact, am eating a slice right now!! This makes an absolutely delicious cookie. The directions are excellent and accurate. The only thing I do differently is add 1 T dried orange peel in addition to the orange extract. I've made it with chopped almonds when I'm out of walnuts and it still tastes fabulous. Everyone loves this cookie, and it keeps so well in tupperware. It does seem to take twice as long to make because you slice and bake them a second time, but don't let that deter you. It is worth it, and makes a decent number of cookies. Make sure you watch them brown and turn them once during the browning step. If you have cookie racks, it makes the cooling process go much faster. (As does a ceiling fan in the kitchen.) Try these cookies - they are great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
Incredible!!! These are so good, so much better than I expected. You gotta use the orange extract. Totally made it. I drizzled them with white chocolate afterwards. I will be making these again and again...maybe tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mukwonago, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Palmyra, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2005
This is fun and easy to make. I didn't think there was enough dough to make 4 logs, so i only made 2. Don't be fooled! They rise alot. My biscuits were too big to be biscoti like, but they were great. Thanx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
This is a great basic recipe. The first time I made it, I thought it tasted a little too oily, so I cut the oil to 1/2 cup and used 1/4 cup of butter for the flavor. I also added 1/4 tsp of salt. I did not have orange extract, so I used lemon instead with some lemon and orange zest and poppy seeds. I love recipes like this that you can change around each time you make them. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
My dad requested biscotti, so I quickly chose this recipe and presented the cookies as a Christmas gift (after sampling several myself with hot coffee!). I substituted vanilla extract for the orange and used sliced almonds and semi-sweet chocolate chips rather than walnuts. Absolutely delicious; they came out perfectly. This will definitely become one of my regulars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2003
Very good Biscotti. I didn't have orange extract so used 1 tsp almond and 1 tsp vanilla. I added 1/2 C choco chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
This is a good recipe but a bit bland. Next time I would add orange zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weatherly, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Good for dunking in coffee or hot chocolate. Alone they are not that great. If I were to make them again, I would use a different type of nut (pecans) and add some dried fruit or chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Everyone loved these. I used pecans and craisins and then left some plain, dipped some ends in chocolate and then drizzled some with chocolate. My loaves took 5 minutes longer to bake...i had them a little closer than 3 inches, maybe that's why. The dough is a little dry and crumbly with the stuff in it so to make your loaves...place a ball of dough onto plastic wrap and wrap losely like a burrito ,,then roll it to log shape and remove plastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cocojo

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I have been using this recipe for the past 3 years and it has never failed me! I tend to bake it a bit longer both the first and second times (usually 30 minutes the first time at 325, and then after they cool I put them back in for 10 minutes on each side at 350). They always turn out deliciously crunchy without being too dry and have great taste. I always substitute chocolate chips for the nuts - it's by far the most requested thing I make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Amherst, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States