Joan's Famous Mondel Brodt Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I have one big problem with this recipe: I CAN'T STOP EATING IT. I made it for gifts for the holidays and I've had to make several batches so I have enough to give after nibbling on them. It's wonderful, easy, and easily modified (you can "play with" the extracts, add raisins and/or other dried fruits and/or different nuts. After making about 6 batches, I think my favorite modification is changing the walnuts to pecans and using a combination of vanilla, almond, and orange extracts (keeping the total at 2 tsp). I also added some dried sweetened cranberries and dried cherries to give at Christmas (yes, it's a little odd to give Jewish cookies for Christmas gifts, but they were a hit and look festive with the additional red color). These are probably the easiest mondel brodt I've ever made... almost like my grandma's, but with much less effort! I like that they aren't overly sweet. They are a perfect accompaniment to coffee. They look and taste a lot more impressive than the effort they take to make. Thank you, Joan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
These cookies are fantastic! I used the ingredients I had on hand, which were; Half butter and half oil (I only had a little bit of oil left), no nuts and lots of orange zest. I dipped them in chocolate and they taste like those kebler elve cookies with the chocolate strips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Just made this...turned out very good. I used vanilla extract and almonds and it's as good as any I've had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
I was really surprised how good these turned out. They are wonderful with coffee. I dipped mine in chocolate. I think the next time I will put cherries in them. I've had Mondel Brodt with cherries and they are fabulous. Thanks for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Calliecat

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
This was a great recipe! I've never made anything like this before so I tried it first with vanilla flavoring instead of orange and used some chocolate chips instead of walnuts. Today I made it the original way and it was awesome ~ so much better than the substitutes! I did add one more teaspoon of orange extract and 1/2 teaspoon of salt. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bubbl3h3ad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
Excellent recipe - thanks Joan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AURORA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
The best way to start my day is with 3 or 4 of these dipped in my tea. I used anise oil instead of orange extract, and dipped the finished slices in melted chocolate, then drizzled with white. I've tried chopped deluxe mixed nuts and chocolate chips, using vanilla instead of the anise flavor. Try it, you'll like it !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
Incredible!!! These are so good, so much better than I expected. You gotta use the orange extract. Totally made it. I drizzled them with white chocolate afterwards. I will be making these again and again...maybe tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mukwonago, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Palmyra, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
crumbly messy goodness. I added a bit of anise which tasted yummy with the nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
My dad requested biscotti, so I quickly chose this recipe and presented the cookies as a Christmas gift (after sampling several myself with hot coffee!). I substituted vanilla extract for the orange and used sliced almonds and semi-sweet chocolate chips rather than walnuts. Absolutely delicious; they came out perfectly. This will definitely become one of my regulars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Rugelach

See how to make traditional rugelach with walnuts and raisins.

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States