Joan's Famous Mondel Brodt Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I have been using this recipe for the past 3 years and it has never failed me! I tend to bake it a bit longer both the first and second times (usually 30 minutes the first time at 325, and then after they cool I put them back in for 10 minutes on each side at 350). They always turn out deliciously crunchy without being too dry and have great taste. I always substitute chocolate chips for the nuts - it's by far the most requested thing I make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Amherst, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I have one big problem with this recipe: I CAN'T STOP EATING IT. I made it for gifts for the holidays and I've had to make several batches so I have enough to give after nibbling on them. It's wonderful, easy, and easily modified (you can "play with" the extracts, add raisins and/or other dried fruits and/or different nuts. After making about 6 batches, I think my favorite modification is changing the walnuts to pecans and using a combination of vanilla, almond, and orange extracts (keeping the total at 2 tsp). I also added some dried sweetened cranberries and dried cherries to give at Christmas (yes, it's a little odd to give Jewish cookies for Christmas gifts, but they were a hit and look festive with the additional red color). These are probably the easiest mondel brodt I've ever made... almost like my grandma's, but with much less effort! I like that they aren't overly sweet. They are a perfect accompaniment to coffee. They look and taste a lot more impressive than the effort they take to make. Thank you, Joan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
These cookies are fantastic! I used the ingredients I had on hand, which were; Half butter and half oil (I only had a little bit of oil left), no nuts and lots of orange zest. I dipped them in chocolate and they taste like those kebler elve cookies with the chocolate strips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Just made this...turned out very good. I used vanilla extract and almonds and it's as good as any I've had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dan Brown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
I was really surprised how good these turned out. They are wonderful with coffee. I dipped mine in chocolate. I think the next time I will put cherries in them. I've had Mondel Brodt with cherries and they are fabulous. Thanks for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Calliecat

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
This was a great recipe! I've never made anything like this before so I tried it first with vanilla flavoring instead of orange and used some chocolate chips instead of walnuts. Today I made it the original way and it was awesome ~ so much better than the substitutes! I did add one more teaspoon of orange extract and 1/2 teaspoon of salt. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bubbl3h3ad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
Excellent recipe - thanks Joan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AURORA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
The best way to start my day is with 3 or 4 of these dipped in my tea. I used anise oil instead of orange extract, and dipped the finished slices in melted chocolate, then drizzled with white. I've tried chopped deluxe mixed nuts and chocolate chips, using vanilla instead of the anise flavor. Try it, you'll like it !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
Incredible!!! These are so good, so much better than I expected. You gotta use the orange extract. Totally made it. I drizzled them with white chocolate afterwards. I will be making these again and again...maybe tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mukwonago, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Palmyra, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
crumbly messy goodness. I added a bit of anise which tasted yummy with the nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Rugelach

See how to make traditional rugelach with walnuts and raisins.

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States