Joan's Famous Mondel Brodt Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2002
I have been meaning to review this recipe, because I have been making it for a long time and, in fact, am eating a slice right now!! This makes an absolutely delicious cookie. The directions are excellent and accurate. The only thing I do differently is add 1 T dried orange peel in addition to the orange extract. I've made it with chopped almonds when I'm out of walnuts and it still tastes fabulous. Everyone loves this cookie, and it keeps so well in tupperware. It does seem to take twice as long to make because you slice and bake them a second time, but don't let that deter you. It is worth it, and makes a decent number of cookies. Make sure you watch them brown and turn them once during the browning step. If you have cookie racks, it makes the cooling process go much faster. (As does a ceiling fan in the kitchen.) Try these cookies - they are great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2002
These are absolutely wonderful. I make them all the time and even my brother loves them and he is extremely picky! I tend to add chocolate chips in them and they come out great. I can guarantee everyone will love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2003
Very good Biscotti. I didn't have orange extract so used 1 tsp almond and 1 tsp vanilla. I added 1/2 C choco chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2004
Was very good, can also use some orange skin instead of extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2004
Easy to make and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2005
This is fun and easy to make. I didn't think there was enough dough to make 4 logs, so i only made 2. Don't be fooled! They rise alot. My biscuits were too big to be biscoti like, but they were great. Thanx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2005
Easy to make, quick and delicious. Easy to also make your on revisions, like I used dried cranberries. Will definately make again. My mom loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2005
Great recipe - I've made it twice with great success both times. I like to add a cup of chocolate chips to the batter in place of walnuts for an even sweeter treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
Fantastic! Not too sweet, and they came out crunchy--with extra baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2006
Excellent shortbread type cookie. I like a strong orange flavor, so added 1 T of orange zest. Next time I will add more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States