Joan's Famous Mondel Brodt Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
These cookies are delicious very much like a biscotti Followed recipe exact except I use anise extract instead of orange because thats what I had on hand.I only bake once because thats the way I like biscotti and like I said these are like biscotti. I think next time I make these a combination of almond extract and dried cranberries would be good. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
I really enjoy these. A little softer than the biscotti recipes I normally use, but still very good. Great with either tea or coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Excellent! I added cranberries which gave it a nice touch. I substituted applesauce for oil and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Pretty good mondel bread. It was the first time I made it so I had my friend that is Jewish try it and let me know if it was good, and she said it tastes like the one her grandmother made, so it past the test...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rasberri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Very easy to make and tasty. I like how easy it is to eat. I added a change for the second bake and dusted the slices with cinnamon sugar to give a slightly sweeter taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Galliano, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Good for dunking in coffee or hot chocolate. Alone they are not that great. If I were to make them again, I would use a different type of nut (pecans) and add some dried fruit or chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
This is a good recipe but a bit bland. Next time I would add orange zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weatherly, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Everyone loved these. I used pecans and craisins and then left some plain, dipped some ends in chocolate and then drizzled some with chocolate. My loaves took 5 minutes longer to bake...i had them a little closer than 3 inches, maybe that's why. The dough is a little dry and crumbly with the stuff in it so to make your loaves...place a ball of dough onto plastic wrap and wrap losely like a burrito ,,then roll it to log shape and remove plastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cocojo

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I have been using this recipe for the past 3 years and it has never failed me! I tend to bake it a bit longer both the first and second times (usually 30 minutes the first time at 325, and then after they cool I put them back in for 10 minutes on each side at 350). They always turn out deliciously crunchy without being too dry and have great taste. I always substitute chocolate chips for the nuts - it's by far the most requested thing I make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Amherst, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I have one big problem with this recipe: I CAN'T STOP EATING IT. I made it for gifts for the holidays and I've had to make several batches so I have enough to give after nibbling on them. It's wonderful, easy, and easily modified (you can "play with" the extracts, add raisins and/or other dried fruits and/or different nuts. After making about 6 batches, I think my favorite modification is changing the walnuts to pecans and using a combination of vanilla, almond, and orange extracts (keeping the total at 2 tsp). I also added some dried sweetened cranberries and dried cherries to give at Christmas (yes, it's a little odd to give Jewish cookies for Christmas gifts, but they were a hit and look festive with the additional red color). These are probably the easiest mondel brodt I've ever made... almost like my grandma's, but with much less effort! I like that they aren't overly sweet. They are a perfect accompaniment to coffee. They look and taste a lot more impressive than the effort they take to make. Thank you, Joan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Rugelach

See how to make traditional rugelach with walnuts and raisins.

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States