Joanie's Coney Island Hot Dog Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
great coney sauce, but it goes alot better with Plaths Meats Hot Dogs,, from Rogers City, michigan,,, just the best ever dogs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
Great recipe! I gave a three because of the bite/spice to it. Great for adults an not so great for children.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kaziaoaks23
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
This recipe was ok!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erikagee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Loved it! Perfectly seasoned and so easy to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rossford, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Fantastic!! I have been looking for a real simple Hot dog sauce without 10000 ingredients. This was perfect. I follow the recipe exactly as written, and the only thing I added was 1 tsp Cayenne powder, because I like my sauce a little spicier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
This was the perfect recipe since I was out of ketchup and tomato sauce!! I thought the flavor was pretty good, I might try a tomato based one before I decide how much I like this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by MamaFaMi
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
I substitute paprika and chillie powder with chillie paste. I didn't use much because my son can't take too much hot food. If it were for me, I would have put in quite a bit! I added minced garlic and diced tomatoes just to give it a tangy taste. The rating is from my son. Thank you Joan for sharing the recipe with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaFaMi

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
I made this using "zelkos" changes. We put it over hot dogs and fresh cut fries, topped with shredded cheddar and diced onion......it was a hit. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy L.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Germfask, Michigan, USA
Living In: Barbeau, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
Great... just as the directions read! very much like the coney dogs I'm used to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rcoller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
This sauce was not hot at all but very spicy...I ended up doubling the spices in the sauce but I probably had more than a pound of ground beef...ya know? Also added cumin seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

How to Make a Simple Meat Sauce

Make a simple meat sauce with leftover top round or sirloin steak.

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States