Jo Jo's Favorite Banana Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Definately a 10 star recipe! I used 2 very ripe (brown) bananas, cut the sugar down to 2/3 cup and added 1/2 cup craisins, 1/2 cup chopped pecans and 1/2 teaspoon Jamacian Allspice with the cinnamon. Real butter instead of margarine. mixed eggs only slightly in to wet ingredients then slowly added dry ingredients. Definately will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
made as mini muffins - very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
I made these for my husband to take to work, and everyone loved them. I left out the Cinnamon,and otherwise made them exactly as the recipe said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
These were very good. I added 1 cup chopped pecans and they were tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Bud, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Delicious!! Instead of 2 c. flour, I used 1/2 cup wheat flour, 1/2 cup oatmeal and 1/2 c. white flour; cut sugar in half and also used 2 1/2 bananas. Less sugar really made the banana stand out! I baked it as a loaf also and it was great with coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHOgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Napoleon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Based on other reviewers, I made a few changes to the recipe. I used 4 VERY ripe bananas to enhance the banana flavor and added 1/4 tsp of vanilla to give it an extra kick, while decreasing the cinnamon to 1/2 tsp instead of 1 whole tsp. I also added an 1/8 cup more sugar, and lessened the salt to 1/4 tsp. The result was fantastic - incredibly moist and delicious. I would definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Loved them, yummy! I just added a little bit of pumpkin pie spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
I added a tad bit of vanilla extract to the milk. In addition, use very ripe bananas!!! Some reviews stated a "bland taste", which is not the case if deep brown bananas are used in this recipe. The muffins are moist and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinMama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
These came out nice and simple, just like the recipe. I only had one banana, so I added just a tiny bit of almond extract for a little more flavor. I agree less time is needed. I only baked mine for 20 minutes, and they were just right, but close to overdone. More bananas as directed would have definitly helped with the moisture. As is, they had a crisp top right out of the oven. I used all the batter for just 12 muffins, which made for nice big muffin tops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynnwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
I read the reviews and went w/this recipe. I also switched out the flour (50% whole wheat and 50% all-purpose). I also recalculated to 12 because that's how many slots are in my muffin tin and I just have one. I still had enough mix for four more muffins so I finished the batch and baked the remaining four. I'd like to try other calorie-cutting options, like the Splenda but was afraid to right off the bat. I used four bananas. I added walnuts (not low-cal, I know). In any case, it was a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 295) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States