Jo Jo's Favorite Banana Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
These came out nice and simple, just like the recipe. I only had one banana, so I added just a tiny bit of almond extract for a little more flavor. I agree less time is needed. I only baked mine for 20 minutes, and they were just right, but close to overdone. More bananas as directed would have definitly helped with the moisture. As is, they had a crisp top right out of the oven. I used all the batter for just 12 muffins, which made for nice big muffin tops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynnwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
I read the reviews and went w/this recipe. I also switched out the flour (50% whole wheat and 50% all-purpose). I also recalculated to 12 because that's how many slots are in my muffin tin and I just have one. I still had enough mix for four more muffins so I finished the batch and baked the remaining four. I'd like to try other calorie-cutting options, like the Splenda but was afraid to right off the bat. I used four bananas. I added walnuts (not low-cal, I know). In any case, it was a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
I just made a batch of these and they came out so MOIST and DELICIOUS! I did make some changes based on other reviewers comments. Here are mine: Added 1/2 tsp vanilla extract, 1/4 cup choc.chps. Decreased to 1/2 tsp. cinnamon Used 4 mashed bananas Baked for less time (start checking @ 20 mins.) Filled muffins cups with lg ice cream scoop, perfect portions every time! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
I followed the other reviews - I added applesauce instead of butter. A bit too dry and not enough banana flavor for us :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Atlasnamy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
I was in search for a quick muffin recipe to make this morning for my parent's 35th wedding anniversary. I loved how I actually had all the ingredients for this recipe in my kitchen. The recipe was super easy to make. I cut the recipe in half to 9 servings, used 1 cup of mashed bananas instead of 1/2 cup, added some chopped walnuts, and a little bit of vanilla extract. They turned out so GREAT! They were moist and had amazing flavor for such a simple recipe. My parents loved it! Thanks for posting this recipe Jo Jo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
Very easy to make. My husband is sleeping in this morning, so I had some extra time to make these for breakfast. They were moist and very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wanna be cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
Tons of flavor, simple enough for the kids to help with and easily modified a bit. I increased the bananas to 1.5 cups without any other changes and they were wonderfully moist and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
I'd give this recipe 10 stars if I could. This recipe is great! You can alter easily, just stick to the basics. The muffins turn out great! They were soft, moist, and wonderful! I added some walnuts, which gave it more flavor. You can also add raisins, dried berries, or any ingredient that you often find in muffins. I added extra bananas, some extra flour to make up for the extra bananas, and some extra baking soda and baking powder to make a bigger load. I didn't even measure or use the calculating option. I was having a feeling that it won't turn out good, but actually turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
These are great! I did change a few things. I used 1/2 cup of whole wheat flour and 1/2 cup of quick oats in place of 1 cup of reg. flour. I also cut the butter in half and used a 6 oz. container of vanilla yogurt. For the sugar I used 1/2 white and 1/2 brown. Added a pinch of nutmeg and a sprinkle of brown sugar on the tops. Just trying to make it a bit healthier so I don't feel so bad handing one to my son.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
This is a very good recipe. It is simple, but very tasty. I made this tonight and it was very simple. The muffins cooked up nicely in 20 minutes. I would not cook them any longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 297) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States