Jo Jo's Favorite Banana Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Wow! These are great. I did alter the first 4 ingredients: 1/2 cup all purpose flour, 1/2 cup whole wheat, 1/2 cup oats, 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar, 3 bananas (because I wanted to use up the black bananas), and 1/2 cup unsweetened applesause in place of the margarine. I also added a dash of nutmeg and 1 tsp of vanilla. A few weeks ago, I made the Banana Muffins II recipe and gave it 3 stars because they were just so-so. These muffins are way better. I'm thinking of making them for my son's birthday snack at his preschool. ****** I just made them again using the above substitutions and only used 1/2 cup of sugar total: 1/4 brown and 1/2 white. Totally fine. I only used 3 Tbs of milk and I also forgot the vanilla and nutmeg. I think I will no longer add nutmeg to the recipe, but the vanilla I would add. The muffins are super moist to the point that they stick to your fingers. I don't know if that's from reduced flour and not adjusting the liquids. I think I'll only use 1 egg next time and see what happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ponytail Goddess
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
These were so good! I thought it sounded like there was too much cinnamon in them, but it was just enough. I added 3/4 cup of chopped walnuts and filled the cups a little higher to make 12 larger muffins. It was just enough batter and they puffed up quite nicely. Don't bake them more than 25 minutes though or I imagine they'll dry out. Awesome recipe! I'm definitely going to make these again! Edited 04/10--for my new diet, I decided I wanted to try and make the muffins more filling. I only added one cup of all-purpose flour and added 3/4 cup of oatmeal, as well as 1/4 cup of 100% whole wheat flour. I also cut the sugar down to 3/4 cup and they were still fabulous! I don't think you can go wrong with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ponytail Goddess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Freeport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
These Muffins were good! Moist, YES! I might have greased my muffin tin a little too much though as they were a little chewy on the bottom half. I only baked mine for 20 min as everyone else had suggested and that was pleanty! I used 4 bananas and it was a sufficient enough banana taste. I will probably make them again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Asher

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Definately a 10 star recipe! I used 2 very ripe (brown) bananas, cut the sugar down to 2/3 cup and added 1/2 cup craisins, 1/2 cup chopped pecans and 1/2 teaspoon Jamacian Allspice with the cinnamon. Real butter instead of margarine. mixed eggs only slightly in to wet ingredients then slowly added dry ingredients. Definately will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
made as mini muffins - very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
I made these for my husband to take to work, and everyone loved them. I left out the Cinnamon,and otherwise made them exactly as the recipe said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
These were very good. I added 1 cup chopped pecans and they were tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Bud, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Delicious!! Instead of 2 c. flour, I used 1/2 cup wheat flour, 1/2 cup oatmeal and 1/2 c. white flour; cut sugar in half and also used 2 1/2 bananas. Less sugar really made the banana stand out! I baked it as a loaf also and it was great with coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHOgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Napoleon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Based on other reviewers, I made a few changes to the recipe. I used 4 VERY ripe bananas to enhance the banana flavor and added 1/4 tsp of vanilla to give it an extra kick, while decreasing the cinnamon to 1/2 tsp instead of 1 whole tsp. I also added an 1/8 cup more sugar, and lessened the salt to 1/4 tsp. The result was fantastic - incredibly moist and delicious. I would definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Loved them, yummy! I just added a little bit of pumpkin pie spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 298) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States