Jo-Ann's Power Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
Wonderful! I made a batch with exactly what you had for my hubby and I made a lower carb version for myself. They both turned out awesome! FYI...lower carb I omited the fruit and flour. I added two scoops of low-carb protein powder and 2 T peanut butter. They were great. I'm going to experiment with this base recipe using bananas, blueberries, dried cranberries....wow the options are endless. Thanks so much!!! A++++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
396 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Dudley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marine, Illinois, USA
Living In: Troy, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
Delicious and filling!!!! I make a few changes like adding chocolate protien powder instead of flour (as suggested by another user)and omitting the brown sugar and oil. if you use protien powder it will sweeten the bars without the additional sugar. I use dried cherries for the fruit and a little more applesauce to compensate for the lack of oil. They hold together really nicely, even when I throw them in my bookbag for a snack between classes. Tasty brain food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
340 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
I've made these several times over the past two weeks and have really enjoyed being able to swap out the major flavor makers. The first batch was by the recipe using dried cranberries for the fruit and sliced almonds for the nuts. I added in a little coconut and left out the sunflower seeds b/c I didn't have any. They came out good - but these are VERY HIGH FIBER! Just so you know! My husband didn't care for the flavor of the first batch. He requested a second which I just made with: pumpkin seeds, dried goji berries, ground flax seeds(in place of 1/2 of the flour), a little coconut and a handful of whole almonds. There wasn't enough crunch in the first batch for him - so these are perfect. I almost doubled the cinnamon too since there are a lot of flavors going on and I think it goes nicely with the nuttiness of the flax. I made a batch with chocolate chips and coconut (coconut oil in place of vegetable) for my 5 & 3 year old with great success - next time I'll leave out the cinnamon with that one though. I also made a tropical version for me with dried papaya, pineapple and coconut. Thank you for a great basic recipe that is SO quick, easy and healthful. Play around to make it suit your taste and health needs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
263 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
Way good! I doubled the applesauce and bars really had a great texture. Used sesame seeds, almonds, flax seeds, sunflower seeds, raisins. Would be great with any seed/nut/dried fruit combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBIVEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2005
Keeeeeeeeeper!! Love it. Very chewy and not too sweet. I used chopped dates, which were somewhat sweet and dried cranberries. I could taste the cinnamon, very good. I'm actualy about to make them again right now. They work well as snack for school. I will try some changes like sesame seed or poppy seed, prunes or figs and peanuts. The one thing I changed was the amount of apple sauce. I increased it to 3/4 cup. It was easy to spread. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
I love this recipe. My husband is on his way home from work he gets very grouchy because he is hungry. I hated spending the big bucks on a box of air (granola bars) and he was never satisfied with them. I came across your recipe and have made them ~ well I make them 3 times a week and he eats them on his way home. My husband loves these and says they are filling. I will never buy another box of air for the big bucks agian!!This recipe is so versatile that I make it several ways. Thanks for the great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Willamina, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
I make this recipe at least once a week!Love this recipe. I have 5 kids, so I like to make my own granola bars for cost savings and better nutrition. This is an easily adaptable recipe. I've used all kinds of fruit purees instead of apple sauce. Some favourite combinations are cherry/ coconut/ white choc chip (just a few for fun!) and pumpkin puree with pumpkin seeds and pumpkin pie spices. We are a nut free home and school, so I've tried lots of things to "fill" out the bar, including flax and all kinds of other seeds, soy nuts, Grape Nuts, bran buds, coconut, you name it. Almost everything has worked! I double the recipe and use a parchment lined 9 x 13 pan, then after it's baked and cooled for about 10 minutes, I flip the whole thing out and cut into bars. I let those cool a little longer, then wrap them individually so they are ready to go into lunches or as snacks. I get about 18 -24 bars this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAHBEAN007
Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2006
these were excellent! i omitted the vegetable oil and added maple syrup instead for added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2004
I love this recipe! I've made this recipe a dozen times, using different dried fruit, omitting the nuts and adding chocolate whey-more protein (I'm a sports-nut). It never fails, never is dry and using chocolate covered raisins make them a bit sinful but always delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
nice fruity flavor we added flaxseed for extra "power".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: South Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 298) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States