Jo-Ann's Power Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
Excellent! I replaced half the wheat flour with rice protein (extra nutrition) and used pecans, sesame seeds, cranberries and raisins (everything else exact). They are wonderful and my 3 teenagers like them as well. One hint, they taste not so good out of the oven but when you chill them over night in the fridge....SO good!! I can't wait to try some variations. This is a keeper and I will keep on hand for quick breakfasts on the go. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissNikki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Such a simple recipe! I didn't have any Grapenuts, so I did 1 c quick-cooking oats, and 1/2 c rolled oats. I added dried cranberries and chopped up almonds, and it was so yummy. I only added 1 T of sugar, because I was worried they would be too sweet with the dried fruit. I'll likely add the full amount next time, but they were still delicious. The bars definitely taste better after sitting the fridge for a while, so be patient! It's worth the wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
These are amazing! Overall, great nutrition - depending on how much sugar is added via the dried fruit - very filling and EPIC tasty (my stepson's review). The modification I made was inadvertent because I wasn't paying attention: I used 1/3 cup of organic unsweetened apple sauce and 1/3 cup of raw honey. It made the bars moist and chewy so I will keep making them this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
These were ok. I brought them to work and the reaction was about 50/50. I'm probably missing the point, but I'll try again but throw in some chocolate chips next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
These power bars are awesome and my family has teeth and jaw problems and with the fruit it was to chewy so what we did was replace the fruit with 1/4 cup of chocolate chips and 1/4 cup of crasins. today we tried something new though we made a batch of 24 with 1/4 cup of chocolate chips and 1/4 cup of peanut butter chips with 1/2 a cup of crasins and they are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
I doubled this recipe, and didn't stray at all, and these are not good! I wanted them to be something my kids would eat, but they are dry, and a very strange texture. The picture makes them appear as if they have some moisture in them, but I would not ever make these again,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Very tasty! I've decided to start eating clean, and this was one of the first recipes I reached for. I've had it in my Recipe Box for a little while, and was impressed by the reviews and the versatility of the recipe itself. Made my first batch with sliced almonds instead of walnuts, and dried mixed berries. I also used the recipe for Sara's Applesauce (found here at Allrecipes) rather than store-bought. Since that has cinnamon in it, I halved the cinnamon for the power bars. Thanks for such a great base recipe! I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
LOVED this recipe!!! These are sooo much better than anything you buy at the store. I will definitely make again and will experiment - the possibilities are endless. I omitted the honey and upped the applesauce to compensate, but otherwise followed the exact recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
These are delicious! And you can add just about anything to them. I didn't have sunflower seeds or walnuts so I added peanuts and chopped pecans. Based on another review I replaced the wheat flour with whey protein. I omitted the honey, brown sugar and oil and instead added another 1/4 cup applesauce. I also added 1/4 cup chocolate chips. I'm not sure why the recipe calls for 7oz of dried fruit - 1/2 cup was good enough for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
these were so delicious my husband even loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 81-90 (of 301) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States