Jo-Ann's Power Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
These are amazing! I changed up the recipe using pecan nuts instead of walnuts, using only 1 1/2 Tbsp of brown sugar (will leave it out completely next time) and adding 1 cup of chocolate Shakeology and 1/3 cup of unsweetened applesauce. Mixed up berries according to my own taste by using dried cranberries, dried red raisins and dried white raisins. Might actually try these with peanutbutter next time :)! Love it - they are a constant item in my fridge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brittany Love
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
I think next time I will try a bar with peanut butter. These were very good, I used a bit of pumpkin pie filling with the applesauce, and then cranberries and pecans for Fall. They are filling and great for breakfast or after a work out!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittany Love

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Kohler, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Great bar. I made some changes, I did not have the cereal so I put extra oats. I did not use the oil but replaced it with almond butter,I left the nuts out only because I did not have any but will add next time. I used dried tart cherries and apricots as apricots go well with any other fruit. I put half whole wheat flour and half whey protein powder. Threw in a handful of mini choc chips, baked for 23 min and they are delicious. I really don't think you can ruin this recipe, just put in what you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
Love them! I cut down the brown sugar to 1 Tablespoon and they were still really good. Will experiment with extra applesauce and other substitutions next time. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
This is so good you may as well just double the recipe and use a 9 X 13 pan! I used Old Fashioned rolled oats with no problems, omitted the oil and increased the applesauce. I used the regular amount of honey but decreased the brown sugar and probably didn't need any sugar at all with the fruits I used. Dried apricot, cranberries, raisons, and coconut were my additions. I was impressed how they came out looking like those fancy Kashi granola bars in the box.... only much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SouthernBellePepper

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
Based on taste these were really good. The only thing I didn't like was that they are crumbly which does not make them a good "grab n go" bar. They were very easy to make and made the house smell good. I think folks are going a little over board with all the changes they are making considering they are already very healthy and there is very little oil in them to begin with. I added flax seeds and choc chips to mine. I will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
Very good - even better than I expected. I look forward to trying different combinations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
this was FULL of fruit. (it measured to about a cup and a half) it was a little more 'cakey' then i expected, but moist and hearty. would make a great breakfast or snack during physical activity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
I have gotten in the habit of eating one granola bar each day...but the calories, relative lack of nutrition, inclusion of corn syrup etc. bothered me. I've started making this recipe every two weeks, cutting it into ten bars and putting them in a zip-lock bag in the freezer. I take out one bar each weekday and I'm becoming addicted! I use whatever cereal we have in the house, have used maple syrup, honey- whatever as sweetener (even reduced it a bit) and have tried, craisins, dried apricots, dried blueberries...for the fruit. Often don't have applesauce so quickly cook down an apple! I use white whole wheat flour. They are SO good, so easy and so nutritious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
I definitely look some liberties with this recipe but It gave me a great place to start from! I didn't have and grape-nuts so I used Kashi Cereal instead. I also switched out the sunflower seeds for more walnuts and added a few tablespoons of wheat germ (trying to up the protein) overall these were great! Sort of reminded me of a Clif Bar. I also used a tablespoon less brown sugar and they were perfectly sweet. I'm looking forward to trying new modifications to the recipe! Thank's for a great base!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 304) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States