Jo-Ann's Power Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
A bit sticky, but good. Tasted fine with unsweetened applesauce and pecans (instead of walnuts). Need to bake a little longer - maybe 35 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Winnetka, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
EASY and very very tasty - I didn't rate 5 because I don't like power bars. Weird, right? Husband loves them and I am an absolute gem to accommodate him! lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Just made these...trying to find a breakfast bar and this is it! I did change it up a little. I substituted the wheat flour for this peanut butter powder(picture), I used coconut oil for the veg oil. Almonds instead of walnuts and pecans instead of sunnies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cambridge, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
These are amazing! I changed up the recipe using pecan nuts instead of walnuts, using only 1 1/2 Tbsp of brown sugar (will leave it out completely next time) and adding 1 cup of chocolate Shakeology and 1/3 cup of unsweetened applesauce. Mixed up berries according to my own taste by using dried cranberries, dried red raisins and dried white raisins. Might actually try these with peanutbutter next time :)! Love it - they are a constant item in my fridge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brittany Love
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
I think next time I will try a bar with peanut butter. These were very good, I used a bit of pumpkin pie filling with the applesauce, and then cranberries and pecans for Fall. They are filling and great for breakfast or after a work out!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittany Love

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Kohler, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Great bar. I made some changes, I did not have the cereal so I put extra oats. I did not use the oil but replaced it with almond butter,I left the nuts out only because I did not have any but will add next time. I used dried tart cherries and apricots as apricots go well with any other fruit. I put half whole wheat flour and half whey protein powder. Threw in a handful of mini choc chips, baked for 23 min and they are delicious. I really don't think you can ruin this recipe, just put in what you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
Love them! I cut down the brown sugar to 1 Tablespoon and they were still really good. Will experiment with extra applesauce and other substitutions next time. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
This is so good you may as well just double the recipe and use a 9 X 13 pan! I used Old Fashioned rolled oats with no problems, omitted the oil and increased the applesauce. I used the regular amount of honey but decreased the brown sugar and probably didn't need any sugar at all with the fruits I used. Dried apricot, cranberries, raisons, and coconut were my additions. I was impressed how they came out looking like those fancy Kashi granola bars in the box.... only much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SouthernBellePepper

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
Based on taste these were really good. The only thing I didn't like was that they are crumbly which does not make them a good "grab n go" bar. They were very easy to make and made the house smell good. I think folks are going a little over board with all the changes they are making considering they are already very healthy and there is very little oil in them to begin with. I added flax seeds and choc chips to mine. I will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
Very good - even better than I expected. I look forward to trying different combinations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 297) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States