Jo-Ann's Power Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
These are so nice and easy! I did make a couple adjustments because I didn't have enough dried fruit I through in some dark chocolate chips. I also didn't use any oil or brown sugar but added more applesauce and a banana. Definitely will be making these again. They just seem so much healthier for you than anything in the grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Very simple and very tasty. I have made these a few times my husband loves them and I use all kinds of different fruits. They don't last longer than 2 days before I am making more. Great to have for snacks in the house. A keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
A bit sticky, but good. Tasted fine with unsweetened applesauce and pecans (instead of walnuts). Need to bake a little longer - maybe 35 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
EASY and very very tasty - I didn't rate 5 because I don't like power bars. Weird, right? Husband loves them and I am an absolute gem to accommodate him! lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Just made these...trying to find a breakfast bar and this is it! I did change it up a little. I substituted the wheat flour for this peanut butter powder(picture), I used coconut oil for the veg oil. Almonds instead of walnuts and pecans instead of sunnies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cambridge, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
These are amazing! I changed up the recipe using pecan nuts instead of walnuts, using only 1 1/2 Tbsp of brown sugar (will leave it out completely next time) and adding 1 cup of chocolate Shakeology and 1/3 cup of unsweetened applesauce. Mixed up berries according to my own taste by using dried cranberries, dried red raisins and dried white raisins. Might actually try these with peanutbutter next time :)! Love it - they are a constant item in my fridge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brittany Love
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
I think next time I will try a bar with peanut butter. These were very good, I used a bit of pumpkin pie filling with the applesauce, and then cranberries and pecans for Fall. They are filling and great for breakfast or after a work out!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittany Love

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Kohler, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Great bar. I made some changes, I did not have the cereal so I put extra oats. I did not use the oil but replaced it with almond butter,I left the nuts out only because I did not have any but will add next time. I used dried tart cherries and apricots as apricots go well with any other fruit. I put half whole wheat flour and half whey protein powder. Threw in a handful of mini choc chips, baked for 23 min and they are delicious. I really don't think you can ruin this recipe, just put in what you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
Love them! I cut down the brown sugar to 1 Tablespoon and they were still really good. Will experiment with extra applesauce and other substitutions next time. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
This is so good you may as well just double the recipe and use a 9 X 13 pan! I used Old Fashioned rolled oats with no problems, omitted the oil and increased the applesauce. I used the regular amount of honey but decreased the brown sugar and probably didn't need any sugar at all with the fruits I used. Dried apricot, cranberries, raisons, and coconut were my additions. I was impressed how they came out looking like those fancy Kashi granola bars in the box.... only much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SouthernBellePepper

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 299) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States