Jo-Ann's Power Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: May 15, 2010
Yep, 5 stars. It's easy and they did not stick around. Even my picky husband enjoyed them and managed NOT to forget them in the morning on his way to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lmtroch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pinellas Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
AMAZING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
This recipe is amazing! Not only delicious and a huge hit at our house but it's hugely versatile. Taking tips from other reviewers, I was able to custom fit the bars to our tastes and what I had on hand. I left out the nuts (inadvertently) and used molasses in place of the oil. Substituted All-Bran Buds for the GrapeNuts and a combination of ground flax and protein powder for the flour. I'll definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntieJ

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
I followed the recipe almost verbatum the 1st time I made them and they were dry and bland. I was pretty disappointed. I used walnuts, pecans, raisins and dried pomegranates. Even took them to work and they didn't go fast. Guess I will try the protein powder, flax, peanut butter and more applesauce next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
These are GOOD! I doubled the recipe and made 2 9x9 pans- one with dried blueberries and one with chocolate chips. I added flax seeds, used almonds instead of the walnuts, and used the Kashi version of Grape Nuts. Next time I will try and leave out some of the brown sugar and am going to try dried diced dried apricots!! This recipe is really limitless- which is GREAT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
I LOVED these! They really give me a boost of energy and they are soooo easy to make. I followed the recipe as written, using dried cranberries from Costco for the fruit.YUMMM....thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Yummy, not too sweet and perfectly filling. Just what I expected and wanted for a breakfast bar. The only change I made was only being able to add approx half the honey (we ran out). But it came out wonderful. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by busyoregonmom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
I make these once a week and they are better than any store bought bar, IMO. Changes I make: protein powder for flour, add 1TB almond butter, reduce brown sugar to 1 TB, use slivered almonds, pumpkinseeds, flax seeds, seasame seeds. Omit dried fruit. Love them!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
MUCH better than the recipe on post.com (uses grapenuts)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gen

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 131-140 (of 297) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States