Jo-Ann's Power Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Easy, fast, great! I used Fiber One cereal instead of grapenuts, pear butter instead of applesauce, mixed nuts and fruit from christmas (7oz came to about 1 1/8 cup), and no oil. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
My kids love these and really feel like they are getting a treat. Some things I changed, though, based on what was in my pantry & personal preferences: 1. Did not have Grape Nuts or sunflower seeds, so excluded those; 2. Used 3/8 C applesauce-no oil; 3. Substituted 1/4 C Molasses for the brown sugar; 4. Used 1/3 C Craisins; 5. Added a pinch of salt and 1/4 C Wheat Germ. Next time I might even add a little vanilla... Lots of possibilites! Great recipe to get creative with. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victory Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Excellent Recipe! Had to make one change with the sugar as I didn't have brown sugar and didn't want to use white, so I used 1 tbsp of maple syrup. It's possible the recipe could have done without the sugar entirely considering the sugar from the dried fruit! Dried fruit I used was: apricots, cranberries, raisens, dates, and cherries. Am looking forward to trying others! Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by food4fit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I was looking for a way to use up grape-nuts and found this. Delicious and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Loved these bars! Will definately make again. The only thing I will do different next time is cook them a bit longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
I was looking for a way to get healthy calories into my son (picky eater, low weight) There were great! We added chopped apricots and currents (all we had for dried fruit and apricots are his favourite) and a handful of choclate chips (to get my son to eat them, always works). Only reason I gave it a 4 star is they were crumbly. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
too "honey" tasting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Strasburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
This turned out great! Awesome meal substitute if you missed breakfast! I think the recipe could do with a pich of salt, though I made it as is except without cereal and used almonds and mixed health seeds (sunflower, pumkin seed, linsee, sesame seed) and mixed dried fruit and walnuts. You can actually use anything as long as the base recipe remains the same, because this works perfectly. Thanks for a great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pietermaritzburg, Kwazulu-Natal, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
I love these bars!! I add so many things to them and they just always taste wonderful. My favorite mix-ins are chopped almonds, sunflower seeds, raisins, craisins and flax seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
Good basic snack bar recipe. I think next time I will add some more nuts and maybe some wheat germ and flaxseed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 298) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States