Jo-Ann's Power Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
I wouldn't make these again. They are more of a cookie consistency, and don't hold their shape/crumble apart. Just a weird texture overall - not crunchy or chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
These turned out pretty bland. Perhaps adding a cup of chocolate chips to the mix would make them taste better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I had a hard time getting mine to stick together and cutting them into bars, but it didn't matter, because they were gobbled up immediately. Next time I will use less flour and try adding different seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deet31483

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Wonderful flavor! I had to use a slightly different cereal, as well as just raisins instead of mixed dried fruit. The honey adds the perfect type of sweetness to such a healthy snack. This recipe is easy to play with, I will definately be using it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
These are awesome! So easy to make and delicious! I made two batches. The first I substituted maple syrup for the vegetable oil. I used raisins and cranberries for the fruit. The second batch I made I substituted 3 T. peanut butter for the brown sugar, then I added raisins and chocolate chips for a gorp-like bar. I also doubled the applesauce in the second batch and it came out great! I will make these again. Next I want to try a tropical fruit medley with pineaple, mango, and apricot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Easy, fast, great! I used Fiber One cereal instead of grapenuts, pear butter instead of applesauce, mixed nuts and fruit from christmas (7oz came to about 1 1/8 cup), and no oil. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
My kids love these and really feel like they are getting a treat. Some things I changed, though, based on what was in my pantry & personal preferences: 1. Did not have Grape Nuts or sunflower seeds, so excluded those; 2. Used 3/8 C applesauce-no oil; 3. Substituted 1/4 C Molasses for the brown sugar; 4. Used 1/3 C Craisins; 5. Added a pinch of salt and 1/4 C Wheat Germ. Next time I might even add a little vanilla... Lots of possibilites! Great recipe to get creative with. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victory Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Excellent Recipe! Had to make one change with the sugar as I didn't have brown sugar and didn't want to use white, so I used 1 tbsp of maple syrup. It's possible the recipe could have done without the sugar entirely considering the sugar from the dried fruit! Dried fruit I used was: apricots, cranberries, raisens, dates, and cherries. Am looking forward to trying others! Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by food4fit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I was looking for a way to use up grape-nuts and found this. Delicious and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Loved these bars! Will definately make again. The only thing I will do different next time is cook them a bit longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 303) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States